Week 7, Crusty

Just want to give a brief update on my progress. Mostly I’d like to complain a whole lot about how unbelievably difficult this ordeal has been. Weeks 5-6 were some of my worst, mostly having to do with my inability to cope emotionally with week after week of pain and horrible sleep. Lots of losing my shit out of the blue and being reduced to racking sobs. This was surprising because I tend to think of myself as a strong person. Funny what weeks of this can do to a person.

Around the beginning of week 7, I started trying to reduce my Vaseline usage. The first few tries were just unbearable, and I had to use it again. But I kept trying, and right now I’m on day 3 of no Vaseline. All I’m using on my skin is the daily Epsom salt bath. My skin is like a dead snake, just scale after scale after scale. You would think underneath all of these scales would be fresh, beautiful skin, but instead there are just more scales, or blood. My skin is pulled across my face like a drum. It’s ridiculous. But I’m trying to manage. I read around a bunch and just decided to give it a try. If it actually does lessen the time I’m suffering, then I’m all for it.

I’m not sure if others have experienced this, but in the past week I’ve lost two long-standing moles. One was a seborrheic keratosis mole and the other was a cherry angioma mole. They just dried up and peeled off. I’m amazed.

To deal with the extreme dryness on my hands, I’ve been using white cotton gloves spritzed with water. This helps so much. My skin stays reasonably soft throughout the day.

I’m not really sure what else to say. This whole thing sucks and I can’t wait for it to be behind me. I’ve never wanted time to pass so quickly. I am feeling better, but that is so relative that I almost hesitate to say it. Here are some pictures I just took:

My poor crusty hand.

My poor crusty hand.

The glove treatment.

The glove treatment.

My poor crusty face. I better look like a 30-year-old when this is all finished.

My poor crusty face. I better look like a 30-year-old when this is all finished.

 

1 Comment

Filed under topical steroid withdrawal

One response to “Week 7, Crusty

  1. gorthx

    I’m sorry this has dragged on so long. That really looks like it hurts. 😦 It *is* looking better, though. And yeah, how about looking 30!!!

Leave a Reply

