Homemade Soap Recipes

I’ve been having a ton-load of environmental allergy problems the past several months (pollen is EVIL), which is most unpleasant, I must say. My extreme allergies this past summer and fall are what led me back to the SCD. It seemed like every time I stepped outside, my rash would just go blitzo. Then it got to be that I was becoming more sensitive inside the house to dust and whatnot. So during the summer when my rash really started to go crazy, I had a phase where I further explored my skin allergies (I’m pretty allergic to fragrances in products).

I thought detergents might also be causing problems, so I went completely kamikaze on detergents in our house.

If you want to know what a detergent actually is and the difference between detergent-based and soap-based cleansers, and I have to say I found it quite educational, you can read up on this fascinating topic here (for impatient readers, scroll down to “The Detergent Piece of the Puzzle”). This woman is amazing. Here’s a nice story about her experience solving her son’s eczema. Basically, she figured out it was a detergent allergy. (Also, read her site to understand why stuff that says it’s eco-friendly is not actually eco-friendly.) I figured if I was allergic to detergents, then great, I’d get rid of them. If not, then I’d save a lot of money on expensive cleaning products.

It’s been a few months now and I have to say it’s like when I first moved away from home and discovered I could make my own salad dressing: What?! You don’t have to buy salad dressing? You can make it yourself? Wow. Revelation!

So, yes, you can make your own cleaning products, Timmy, and I’ll be darned if they don’t work just as wellbetter in most cases, in particular my laundry mix recipe below, which I love; I’ll never go back to store-bought. And, pennies on the dollar, people! Need I say more?

My favorite site for homemade products is this handy flier put out by Do It Green Minnesota. It really is important that we reduce the toxins in our environment. Not just for us and the children, Virginia, but for all the critters who live downstream in our wastewater.

It’s also interesting to note that in reading around on some of my fellow SCD bloggers’ sites, they have also gone through detergent-eliminating phases. I’m not even sure what to make of this. Are we all extremely environmentally sensitive people allergic to everything on top of the belly issues? Hmmm. Food for much further thought.

And now, for the too-much-information segment of this post, here is what I’m currently using these days:

Body and Hair Soap

  • Sappo Hill fragrance-free soap bar (best shampoo ever!)

Laundry Soap Recipe

1 bar of Sappo Hill fragrance-free soap, grated (or your choice of bar soap)
3 c Arm & Hammer washing soda (make sure the box says “washing soda”)
3 c borax
3 c baking soda

Blitz all of the above in the food processor until smooth-ish. Use 2 T per load of laundry.

Dish Soap for Sink Dishes

  • Dr. Bronner’s Unscented Liquid Washing Soap

All-around Household Cleansers

  • Baking soda (even cleans my glass-top range)
  • Vinegar (great for mold/mildew)
  • Borax (must wear gloves–great for tile mold)

For more homemade recipes, type in “detergent” at www.recipezaar.com.

I’m still trying to come up with a decent soap for my dishwasher. So far I haven’t come up with something that doesn’t leave a film on everything. I’ve tried rinsing in vinegar, but that doesn’t seem to work either. If you know of a good recipe for homemade dishwasher soap, please let me know.

Leave a comment

Filed under SCD, soaps

Leave a Reply

