SCD Doritos

This is one of our recent favorite recipes. One of those too-much-of-a-good-thing kind of recipes, ahem. I had to stop making them.

SCD Doritos

1/2 lb grated cheddar

1/4 c peanut flour

1 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp paprika

Preheat the oven to 400F. Mix all of the above together in a bowl and spread out on a baking sheet like so.

Ready to go into the oven

Bake at 400 for about 10-15 minutes (keep an eye on it), until very browned. I usually roll the mass off the sheet in one piece while it’s warm, let it cool, and then break into smaller, bite-sized pieces. For some crazy reason, I don’t have a picture of the finished product. What the? Argh.

UPDATE! Photos!

cheese cooked on a baking sheet

Fresh out of the oven. Let it cool just a bit, but not completely. They need to be warmish before you peel them off with a spatula.

Peeling off cooked cheese from baking sheet.

Peeling up the cooked cheese with a spatula--Silpat highly recommended.

Rolled up cooked cheese

Rolled up cooked cheese. Now let it cool completely before breaking into pieces.

SCD doritos on a plate

Et voila! SCD doritos!

6 Comments

Filed under cheese, crackers, Recipes, SCD

6 responses to “SCD Doritos

  1. tracy

    Just wondering … is that the right picture? Not at all what I picture in my mind based on your ingredients! lol

  2. mjennings26

    It’s truly a TERRIBLE picture. Those are the raw ingredients about to go into the oven. I really should make these this weekend so I can take a real picture of the finished product. Great excuse!

  3. S Judson

    Where do you get peanut flour? Mine usually turns into peanut butter quickly. Would any nut flour work?

    • mjennings26

      I got it at Trader’s. You may be able to order it online somewhere. What I like about it is that it makes them very crispy, which is awesome. I’m sure you could use almond or hazelnut flour, but I don’t think they would be quite as crispy.

  4. Maria

    I’ve been making something similar for my boy…he calls them cheese chips. I don’t use any spices/flours which may also be good. Baking them made them pretty chewy/dense, but I found a way to get them light and crispy/airy. I slice cheese (colby works best) thin (thinner the better) and bake them 300 for 10 min on parchment paper. then I transfer to microwave for another 1 min or so until they puff up and are crisp when cooled. If they are sticky, they are not done. They need to be watched or they get overcooked, but sooo much more like a chip. Maybe you’d like to try that with your recipe : )

Leave a Reply

