Garden Planning 2011

I came home from work last night and The Man had ripped up half the lawn in the backyard. Okay… apparently, the mood struck, and who was he to argue, right? I am happy about it. I was just…surprised. The good news is that we have a bunch of native plants arriving this weekend that we ordered through the Backyard Habitat Program. However, I kind of had plans to plant them elsewhere. Well, change of plans! Learning to live in the moment, be flexible, go with the flow, and all that good stuff. Spring has sort of sprung here and I’m all about growth and change and SUN, though that last part has yet to really arrive. Here’s what we’re planting (includes some things we got a few weeks ago):

  • Native crabapple (malus fusca)
  • Salal
  • Evergreen huckleberry
  • Serviceberries
  • Pacific Ninebark
  • Red flowering currant
  • Nootka rose
  • Woods rose
  • Oceanspray
  • Thimbleberry
  • Salmonberry
  • Snowberry
  • Yarrow
  • Inside-out flower

Where am I going to put all of this?! Oh yeah, half the backyard is ripped up! If you want to see some of these, there is the most awesome database here at OSU’s plant program.

Some of these natives I really, really love. Snowberry, salal… well, actually, all of them are just lovely. At the moment, the current things we’ve planted just look like twigs in the ground. I’ll try to take some pictures for you this weekend. There’s not much to see, but I’m hoping for a dramatic before/after for next year.

On the vegetable agenda for this year are lettuces. I wrote down all the varieties that did well last year, plus the things that didn’t do well, and decided I’m not the kind of gardener who needs to prove herself. I just want to plant seeds in the ground and eat salad six weeks later. If that happens, I’m a huge success. With that said, here are the things I’m planting. We get the seeds from Uprising Seeds.

  • Flashy butter oak lettuce
  • Australian yellow leaf lettuce (performer!)
  • Red rumpled wave (hoping this is like rouge d’hiver from last year)
  • Arugula (this has naturalized to the point where I have wild clumps in the most unlikely places)
  • Crinkly cress (another performer)
  • Italian parsley
  • An heirloom radish called “French breakfast”

The downside of the season: allergies. I’ll write about that soon. Until then, happy garden planning.

2 Comments

Filed under Gardening

2 responses to “Garden Planning 2011

  1. madre

    OMG send the Man to my house

Leave a Reply

