Chicken Parts Pate

When I was a kid, I remember my family, or maybe it was just my parents, fighting over the turkey “parts” at Thanksgiving dinner. At the time, I thought eating turkey gizzard and heart was totally gross and likely some kind of country-hick hold-over from my parents’ rural childhoods, i.e., very suspect. Now as an adult, of course, I’m like, yum yum! My mom always put these “parts” in the stuffing, but all this liver-talk lately has made me rethink that. I took a look at Nourished Kitchen’s chicken liver pate and came up with this recipe based on the parts that came in the baggie stuffed inside a roaster chicken (except the neck, which I use in stock). I’ll be doing this with my Thanksgiving turkey as well. Mmmm.

Chicken Parts Pate

yogurt

chicken parts (all the tidbits that come inside the baggie of a roaster chicken/turkey, except the neck)

1/4 c finely chopped onions

1 T pork fat

salt

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp dried sage

2 T dry red wine

3 T butter

1 T yogurt, plus about 1 cup for the overnight soaking of the parts

optional: 1 tsp fruit jelly

Makes 1/2 cup of pate

  1. Rinse the chicken parts and then soak overnight in yogurt.
  2. Rinse the chicken parts and let drain.
  3. Meanwhile, back at the stove, saute onions with a pinch of salt over med-high heat in a tablespoon of pork fat and a tablespoon of butter until golden. (I have a lot of pork fat due to the pork belly, but I’m sure bacon fat would work just as well).
  4. Put the chicken parts and spices in with the onions, mix together, and heat until nearly all the moisture in the pan is gone.
  5. Pour in 2 T dry red wine and use your wooden spoon to rub off the yummy, stuck bits on the bottom of the skillet. Cook again until the skillet is nearly dry.
  6. When cool, place all this in your food processor with 2 T butter and 1 T yogurt. If you have a teaspoon of apricot-honey or quince-honey jelly, add that in as well. Adding sweetness balances out the rich flavor.
  7. Process until smooth. This will take a few times of using your spatula to wipe down the sides of the container and re-pulsing until smooth.

I have to say this doesn’t look like much (cat food comes to mind), but it tastes pretty darn good. I ate half of it at lunch with celery sticks and carrots. It would be awesome on cheddar crackers as well. It’s very rich, so that 1/2 cup goes a long way. I think I’ll make a turkey version of this for our Thanksgiving dinner, unless of course, The Man and I want to fight over the parts, in which case, they won’t make it to pate.

chicken parts pate in a ramekin

2 Comments

Filed under foie gras, holiday recipes, Pate, Recipes, SCD, Thanksgiving

2 responses to “Chicken Parts Pate

  1. Kat

    This is such a good idea! You could easily get this ready while the turkey’s cooking, and serve it as an appetizer. I wish I could find good turkeys with the innards, for some reason they can’t sell them fresh with organ meats inside here 😦

Leave a Reply

