Quince Kugel

I didn’t know what a kugel was. I’d always heard of them, but never had one. Therefore, I had nothing to judge this against, so, I felt it turned out pretty good. Now that I’m reading up a little online about what a kugel actually is, I’m thinking I can continue to tweak this recipe, perhaps with the addition of dairy. In any case, I think I did figure out that a kugel is a loose term for a kind of casserole dish and can be sweet (e.g., apple kugel) or savory (e.g., noodle kugel). Here’s even a gluten-free potato kugel recipe for those following along at home. And here’s something called the Top 10 Kugel Recipes. Hmmm. That’s a lot kugel, or kugels?

Also, this is fulfilling part of my current mission to try new recipes using quince. (Coming soon: quince jello!)

This recipe is SCD-compliant, baby.

Quince Kugel

2 quince

4 eggs, separated

1/2 c. nut flour (I used hazelnut)

1/2 c. raisins

3 T honey

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/8 tsp kosher salt

  1. Preheat the oven to 325F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, blend the honey and egg yolks together. It helps to drizzle the honey into the yolks slowly while whisking. Ask a friend for help here.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff.
  4. Peel and grate the quince using a box grater. Don’t use the tiny shred, use the more medium shred size.
  5. Add the shredded quince to the honey-yolk mixture.
  6. Add the lemon juice, salt, and raisins and mix together with a wooden spoon.
  7. Now gently fold in the egg whites.
  8. Pour this batter into a well butter glass baking dish (8×8 or circle works well).
  9. Bake at 325F for an hour. You will likely need to put foil over the top for the final 15 minutes to keep it from browning too much.
  10. To serve, drizzle honey over and would be nice served with dairy (SCD yogurt), I think. Mmmm.
kugel pre-oven

Here's the kugel before I put it in the oven.

kugel post-oven

Here's the kugel after its rendezvous with the oven.

And here's the kugel drizzled with honey and sitting atop my Granny's antique plate.

1 Comment

Filed under dessert, quince, Recipes, SCD

One response to “Quince Kugel

  1. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,..what a lovely & divine tasty dessert!

Leave a Reply

