The Quinces Are Here!

Wooooo!

Bit of a tradition around here, getting the quinces. Here are some pics. I’ve already made two batches of quince hooch and I’m working on some vinegar as we speak (recipe coming soon).

The hooch on the right is darker because I added the grated quince to an empty jar. That gave the quince time to oxidize and turn brown before I added the vodka. For the hooch on the left, I first added the vodka, sugar, and spices to the jar, then the grated quince as soon as I grated it. It’s been a couple of hours now and the one on the left is still lighter, but I do expect it to turn brown ultimately. We’ll see.

Leave a comment

Filed under liqueurs, quince

Leave a Reply

