My Okie Beans

For some reason, I just can’t make beans as good as my dad makes them, despite documenting his technique. I don’t know why, and it’s frustrating. Argh!

The thing is, I really love beans. Beans, cornbread, and iced tea is definitely one of my favorite meals. I won’t talk about cornbread in milk here, but you can rest assured that I love that, too. So. Where does that leave me since I live so far away from my parents now? It leads me to…experiments. Here’s a recipe I created that worked pretty well this weekend, though not as good as Dad’s.

My Okie Beans

2 c pinto beans, sorted, rinsed, and soaked overnight

1 ham hock

4 c beef stock

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp ground arbol chili powder

1 bouillon cube

1 tsp paprika

salt and plenty of fresh ground pepper to taste

  1. After soaking, rinse the beans. Add them to a big pot with the beef stock (can be veg stock, of course, for vegetarians).
  2. Add the spices and bring the beans to a boil.
  3. Meanwhile, score the ham hock with a knife and brown it on all sides in a separate skillet, preferably one you cooked bacon in that morning.
  4. Add the ham hock to the boiling beans, stir everything well, and turn off the heat. Let the beans soak some more until later that day when you’re ready to cook them. This can be three hours or eight hours, but you didn’t hear that here since maybe this isn’t so good from a food-borne illness perspective. In any case…
  5. When you’re ready, say around 4 p.m., bring the beans back to the boil and then reduce the heat to a simmer for about an hour to an hour and a half, until the beans are done. You may need to add a little water as you go.

This goes well with Alton Brown’s already gluten-free cornbread recipe. I add arbol chili powder and cheddar cheese to his recipe for extra flavor, and baking it in the aforementioned bacon-greased cast iron skillet is also helpful. Greens also go well, as does iced tea and milk. Mmmmm! Flavors of home.

pinto beans with cornbread

2 Comments

Filed under beans, Okie foods

2 responses to “My Okie Beans

  1. nora

    Your not the only one Mel, I can’t seem to get them to turn out like dad’s either.. He must have a special touch we didn’t get. But I keep trying.. Beans sound good right now, maybe I will make some this week.

  2. mjennings26

    He’s got the magic touch, that’s for sure. How does he get so much flavor with so few ingredients? I’ll keep trying.

Leave a Reply

