Viva la France!

I don’t know how to break this news, so I’ll just bust out with it: I’M GOING TO FRANCE!!!

That is right, my sweets! Moi got an invitation to visit a fabulous friend and her famille in the Aquitaine region of France this summer. Moi can hardly wait!!! (And, if I had a dollar for every time someone has said to me: “You’ve never been to Europe?!” It’s like I’m a unicorn. For the record, I have been to England, but never to le Continent.) Formidable!

I was telling another friend of mine that for some reason, I never really imagined myself visiting France. I don’t know why. It seems like something other people do, but not me. I have been studying French for almost a year now and I also took it in college, but it just never occurred to me that I could actually go there. Now, I can’t believe how idiotic I am. Of course I should go there! What a great motivator it’s been for my studies. And who cares about remodeling the basement anyway?

Honestly, now I’m thinking about my NEXT trip to France!

But back to reality.

This all came about because I was telling the house-friend of mine that another friend of mine had just celebrated her fortieth birthday with a big, all-gal, Phenomenal Forty party. While I was at said party, I imagined what I would do for my fortieth birthday, coming up in May. The idea of a party was just not sparkly for me. What I really wanted to do was travel. Traveling is something I haven’t done a whole lot of, and something I really want to do a whole lot of. My friend heard this and said something like, “Well, you could join me at my house in southwestern France this summer…” To which I coughed up a polite reply, in complete shock. I subsequently went home and obsessed for 72 straight hours, wondering if my friend could possibly have been serious! It seemed PREPOSTEROUS that anyone would invite me to their house in France. But maybe these are the kinds of things that happen to you when you turn 40!

Needless to say, I pulled my head out and accepted the invitation.

I now have a stack of books to prepare for the trip, including a whole book on where to eat in Paris (I’m not even sure I’ll go to Paris, but I just had to have this book!) And I’m listening to my Pimsleur language tapes like a French maniac (Ou est les toilettes?) I can’t believe that come July, I’m going to be hanging out with my pal, sipping wine on her terrace.

I keep thinking that something awful is going to happen, like I don’t know, I’ll have a stroke by then and won’t be able to go. Deep breaths. POSITIVE THOUGHTS!

How do you say pinch me in French?! Ouiiiiiiiiiii!!!

1 Comment

Filed under France

One response to “Viva la France!

  1. Li

    jealous!!!

    Good for you, can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

