Apricot Moonshine

Okay, okay, okay. WHY have I not posted in a week? I’m blaming it on two things: photographs and my idiotically s-l-o-w laptop. I have now written this very post twice because my laptop keeps crapping out on me. I mean, I think when it’s taken me fifteen minutes just to check my e-mail…Houston, we have a problem. I bought my laptop in like…2003? The Dark Ages! Needless to say, it’s time to upgrade. I’ll get right on that as soon as dollar bills rain from the sky.

And as for photos, well, they just take FOREVER to download, edit, and then upload. If I could take a photo and then immediately post it, or if I wrote a blog that did not require photos at all, well then, I’d be a regular spew-er of blog posts!

But who cares about that?!

Here’s what’s cooking in the AFFFG kitchen: fruit liqueurs. MMMMM! One gets a little tired of jamming in the heat of August, so this is a nice alternative for what to do with all your summer fruit. Also, this ensures that I WILL be having a great autumn this year. Glug, glug!

Apricot Liqueur

2 lbs (1 kilo) fresh apricots, halved, pits discarded

3 1/4 c (750 ml) vodka (I use Monopolowa, spud moonshine, but my guru prefers 80 proof Smirnoff)

probably 3 c (750 ml) of agave syrup, but we’ll be adding that in a month

Mix the apricots and vodka together. Store in a cool dark place for one month.

My guru says not to add the sweetener until the fruit and vodka have had a chance to mingle for a month. So that’s what I’m doing. Last year I added everything at once and that seemed to work fine, but I figure the guru must know what he’s doing, so I’m giving his method a shot.

We’ll check back on this in a month. That’ll keep you on the edge of your culinary seats, right?

Apricot Liqueur

Apricot Liqueur

2 Comments

Filed under liqueurs

2 responses to “Apricot Moonshine

  1. Cari

    I have made several jars of ‘hooch’ this summer including apricot. Can’t wait for that one. The cherry was pretty good BUT the strawberry was delicious. It’s definately worth the wait.

  2. mjennings26

    Strawberry?! YUMM-o!
    Cherry just kind of sounds like…cough syrup.

Leave a Reply

