Holy Hotness, Batman!

It is so bloody hot here my eyes feel hot when I blink. Last I checked it was 104F at 7:30 p.m. That’s evening time, folks. 104F. 7:30 pee emm.

My apologies for not posting in so long again. Alas, I have been galavanting all over the state of Oregon enjoying the fine (hot) weather while doing the following:

  • swimming in swimming holes along Fall Creek
  • camping at Eight Mile Creek on the backside of Mt. Hood
  • bringing the temp of our hot tub down to a cool 90F for refreshing soaks
  • not using the stove or oven at all
  • enjoying sips of a pinot gris from my visit to Montinore
  • helping The Man with his amazing chili for DCh’s chili cookoff
  • ordering a meal in Spanish at Cinco de Mayo (get your Oaxacan on!) in Woodburn
  • and all manner of other summertime activities.

Oh yeah, and somewhere in there The Man and I got gnarly cases of food poisoning and spent a day in bed with fevers…did I mention it’s July?! And really super hot?! Fevers!!! Sweaty, hallucinatory fevers!

The good news is that I’ve been rather pleased with my garden this year, if I do say so myself. Lettuce, peas, herbs, lemon cukes, and cherries, oh my! I had a good laugh when our new roomie, NS, pulled “weeds” for me one day while I was at work. She was so proud until I told her that she’d pulled up all my arugula.

My goal is to post the recipes from El Puerco before the end of summer. I’m going to have to blame that on The Man. He’s been too busy (I’m grateful — he’s a contractor) to sit down and tell me his GF mac-n-cheese and pulled pork secret recipes. But that will give you readers something to look forward to.

Until then, here is a lovely photo of this year’s montorency cherry crop. My, but they’re beauties!

Cherries from our montmorency tree

Cherries from our montmorency tree

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Holy Hotness, Batman!

  1. mjennings26

    This is a test comment. Trying to see if my avatar is working properly.

  2. mjennings26

    Yea! It’s working!

Leave a Reply

