Menu for El Puerco de Julio

Once again, I’ve surprised myself by how long it’s taken me to post. I have been so busy I can hardly see straight. Somewhere in the chaos of daily life, I’ve come up with the menu for our second annual El Puerco de Julio Fiesta. Here ’tis:

  • Watermelon
  • Cole Slaw
  • Pulled Pork
  • The Man’s World Famous Gluten-free Mac and Cheese
  • Cornbread (gluten-free and maybe even a vegan version as well)
  • Ice Cream (coconut milk and agave based/gf vegan)

I’m still not sure about the ice cream flavor. We’ve been tossing around a lot of ideas, including just going vanilla and then providing fruit sauces such as peach, cherry (our trees are so weighted down with cherries at this point), lychee, and strawberry. I really like this idea, but honestly, it sounds like a lot of work, which is time I just don’t have right now. Other ideas are peach (using black-peach tea with peach chunks) and strawberry. I’m torn. Naturally, I want it to be perfect, so I’m having a hard time committing. I really need to kill my inner Martha!

Any ice cream flavor suggestions out there? What is traditional (since my menu is traditional) yet super yummy and maybe a little different too?

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, gluten-free, Gluten-free vegan

5 responses to “Menu for El Puerco de Julio

  1. I have an awesome pulled pork recipe on my website if you’re interested. πŸ™‚ Have fun at your fiesta!

  2. mjennings26

    Yes, I AM interested, so thanks for letting me know. Part of today’s mission includes recipe research.

  3. triptup

    obviously, you have already prepared your menu, and my suggestion would not help you out with your quandary as it has nothing to do with what you already have on hand, and i also question the validity of its “traditional” roots other than what is tradition to my childhood memories, but i would suggest making a vanilla based banana ice cream (my tradition) fold in some chopped lychee, toast the coconut to sprinkle over, and top everything off with cherries jubilee! It seems like a lot going on, but the flavor come together like a Mozart masterpiece and sing like a Verdi opera!! 8′)

  4. mjennings26

    Wow! That sounds awesome! I think that ice cream idea would go really well with my coconut milk base recipe. I’ll really have to put this idea on my list of things to try.

  5. Triptup (jeffery)

    Let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

