Growing My Dinner Salad

Look, Look, LOOK at this!!!

Went to a garden party, sat around with my old friends...

Went to a garden party, sat around with my old friends...

It’s my first garden salad of the year! By that I mean that I grew everything in this bowl. Well, I didn’t grow it, I put the seeds in the ground and they grew themselves, like great little children. And now, I must eat them!

What we have here are: spinach, rouge d’hiver, salad bowl, Australian yellow, crinkly cress (man that stuff is spicy) rocket, flat leaf parsley, marjoram, and some other stuff. I tossed all of this in a little olive oil, red wine vinegar, and salt and pepper. It’s so fresh it’s still bleeding, so what more could it need?

I’m really, really pleased about this because this year I gave up on anything remotely fancy for my garden (ix-nay on the ucchini-zay, eets-bay, etc.) and just gave the garden what it most likes to grow, and that is LETTUCE. Et voila, gardening success! Finally!

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Gardening, gluten-free, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes, salad

6 responses to “Growing My Dinner Salad

  1. Oh congratulations, I’m so excited for you! Those leafy greens look mouth watering. I don’t think I’m ever going to get to garden (or even attempt to garden) again. We found the house we are going to buy and it has NO yard. I might have to buy some of those “topsy turvy” hanging garden things. 😦

  2. mjennings26

    Hmmm. No yard sure does suck. But hanging baskety things are very cool and in theory, you could grow edibles in them, no?

  3. madre mom

    love the bowl………arent lettuces fun to grow…. have you
    tried any herbs?? my fav is basil this summer…

  4. mjennings26

    Hi Mom!
    Last year’s garden mission was to get a culinary herbs section going. I have been mostly successful with that. I now have thyme, flat-leaf and curly parsley, several mints, marjoram, and chives. I will take a picture of these modest accomplishments and post it here for you.

    I have some basil sprouts coming up in the kitchen window, but they don’t really seem to be thriving yet. Still, a kitchen herb garden is pretty awesome. And saves a bunch since they’re so spendy to buy at the store.

    I love that bowl too. I think The Man got it at Goodwill. 🙂

  5. It must be so rewarding to eat things that you helped come to life! I planted a couple of things on my balcony (since I don’t have a yard here in NY,) and I love watching them grow.

    It looks great! Way to go!

  6. mjennings26

    Every little bit counts!

Leave a Reply

