The Crazy-Busy Update

Even I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted. Meanwhile, my fellow bloggers pals are writing laps around me. But that’s okay. We gotta be free to be you and me, and lately it’s all about me being super busy.

The good news is that my busy-ness was in large part about being on vacation and away from computers! Wooohoo! The Man and I took our spring vacation out to Malheur to look at birds. We saw ten new species, including the amazing and majestic Swainson’s hawk, which we had wanted to see for a long time. We also discovered that there are quite a few hikes available on or near the refuge, which we had somehow missed the other times we had been there.

The more good news about this is that I’m feeling a LOT better lately. I have been riding my bike, lifting weights at the gym, and just generally being fantastically active. I actually feel “normal,” which is something I haven’t felt in a few years. Currently my only symptom is the swelling hands thing and occasional muscle soreness. I haven’t had any reactions to foods lately either, although I’m still sticking to the SCD, generally speaking.

I’m truly grateful for this reprieve. My monkey mind keeps thinking the shoe will drop and I’ll have to pay for this normalcy later, but my enlightened mind tells me that I can’t predict the future and enjoying each day is what’s important. So I’m trying to do that.

In food news, I’m praising the goddess of summer. It’s not summer yet, of course, but it’s been 80F in Portland for the past ten days in a row, so it feels like summer. My market had a sale on galia melons and I went a little crazy with those. I’ll post a little drinky-poo recipe soon. I’m looking forward to being sick of melons and strawberries a few weeks from now.

Oh yeah, and it was also my birthday earlier this week, so I got busy with that too. It was a Significant Birthday and we celebrated by going to Carafe, one of my favorite French restaurants in town and one that participates in the local gluten-free restaurant thingy. After that we went to see Un Baiser, S’il Vous Plait, a great French film. Did I mention I’ve embarked on learning French? Mais, oui! Hence, the francophilean birthday this year.

That’s all the big news and the super-busy update stuff. I’ll actually get back to the food now in my next posts, I promise.

5 Comments

Filed under gluten-free

5 responses to “The Crazy-Busy Update

  1. Oh my gosh! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    THIS IS YOUR BIRTHDAY SONG
    IT ISN’T VERY LONG….
    the end
    (i told you it wasn’t very long!)
    I’m glad you are feeling better. It’s amazing what a little exercise can do for one’s body!

  2. mjennings26

    Thank you so much!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! When was it? Mine was may 27th, I’m a nice round number now and I’ll just leave it at that ;). I haven’t been blogging as much as I would like lately either, I’m starting to think monthly instead of weekly is a more realistic goal at this point. I’m so hapy to hear that you are feeling well. Keep up the good work!

  4. mjennings26

    You are so sweet! Thank you for the birthday wishes. It was the 26th. I wish I could say I turned 26 as well, but alas…

    Monthly does sound more humane indeed. Yet I still have this nagging voice that says, “But you could also Tweet recipes, upload all your photos to Picasa, and blah blah blah!”

    Yeah, and I suppose I could also be an astronaut, ditch digger, and professional wrestler all at the same time as well.

  5. triptup

    I think if you left out the ditch digging it would be possible 🙂

Leave a Reply

