Oxtail Pate

My apologies for taking so long to post once again. I got busy with moving NS and getting the chicken feet. The feet handoff went very smoothly and included freshly picked strawberries and a jalapeno plant from my sister’s garden. The strawberries were spectacular and may have inspired me to actually try planting some myself next year (however, not holding my breath as my garden intentions always outdo my garden realities).

Oxtails had been on my mind due to my recent economical meats kick. I saw them on a local menu a few weeks back as something like “braised oxtails with orange” and knew that was the next thing I’d tackle.

They’re pretty cheap, though not as cheap as I thought they would be. I got three-ish pounds for $18. Not exactly the price of pigs’ feet, but this dish made it plenty worth it.

I first looked at this recipe to get an idea of what to do, and then went off-roading from there.

Oxtail Pate

3 lbs oxtails

5 T butter

1 c red wine

2 T bacon fat (optional)

1 onion

1/4 c orange juice

2 t drained bottled green peppercorns

4 cloves, ground

2 t salt

  1. Melt 3 T butter in a dutch oven. Add 1 c red wine and the oxtails. Cover and roast in the oven for 3.5 hours at 300F.
  2. Remove from the oven and try not to eat them all because they are super delish at this stage. Remember, you’re going all the way and making pate.

    Sooooooo good

    Sooooooo good

  3. Let cool a bit and then remove the bones using your fingers. It’s much harder to do with a knife and you risk losing a finger. Bad times.

    Meat separated from bones

    Meat separated from bones

  4. Saute the chopped onion until golden in some leftover bacon fat that you have lying around, or 2 T of butter.
  5. Add to the bowl of your food processor: oxtail meat, sauteed onion, orange juice, peppercorns, cloves, and salt. Pulse until fairly well minced but not to the point of a fine grind.
  6. Pack into a loaf pan and refrigerate overnight or until well set.
  7. Loosen the sides by running a spatula around the edges and plop out onto a serving platter. Serve at room temp with some seriously good crackers. This makes enough for two people to last a week and is plenty for a dinner party.

The Man’s comment on this pate was that it was good enough to serve to “normal” people and was actually quite yummy. I thought of it more as a great holiday dish that I won’t have to make excuses for (i.e., “This is my allergy-friendly dish that only I will find tasty.”)

Please take me to a dinner party so I can make people happy!

Please take me to a dinner party so I can make people happy!

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, gluten-free, Pate, Recipes

5 responses to “Oxtail Pate

  1. Okay… seriously… I can do any vegetable, any way (except deep fried. I draw the line there. Why anyone would fry a poor, innocent vegetable is beyond me!). But you are so brave with your meat! I get scared just looking at a whole chicken much less an oxtail! I would probably pee my pants if asked to figure out how to cook one! hahahaha

  2. mjennings26

    I’m SURE you could do it if you set your mind to it! If I can do it, anyone can. Let me know if you give it a try. The end result is definitely worth it.

  3. So, I was looking through one of my recipe books the other day and found a recipe for Oxtail soup. I thought of you. That is all.
    The End!

  4. mjennings26

    I’m so happy to know that someone associates me with oxtails. 🙂

  5. Epicurious has a great recipe for Red-Wine-Braised Oxtails. Looks like it would work with your allergies too. I found two packages at Andronico’s (higher end grocery in Berkeley) for $3.99 in their discounted bin… even Safeway has these bins… keep up with the food experimenting!

Leave a Reply

