Seriously Good Crackers

Most of the recipes I post here are pretty good. But these crackers are REALLY good! In fact, I have to stop making them because they are really TOO good (i.e., addictive). The problem is that they are crunchy, which is something one sorely lacks when one is not eating grains. These are a riff off of the cheddar cracker recipe posted here.

Crunchy Cheese Crackers

1/4 lb grated cheddar

1 cup hazelnut flour (or other nut flour)

1/2 t salt

1/2 t dried sage

1 t dried thyme

1/2 t red pepper flakes

1/4 c oil

3 T cold water

1/3 c sesame seeds

UPDATE: Because sesame seeds are not SCD-legal, next time I make these, I’ll substitute coconut flour.

  1. Mix everything together and form into a ball. Refrigerate for a half hour (or overnight) until firm.

    Chill out, crackerball

    Chill out, cracker-ball

  2. Roll out to 1/4 inch. I recommend using parchment both above and below the cracker-ball (not as shown in this pic). Trust me on this one. However, if you don’t have a rolling pin, you can always use an empty wine bottle.rolloutcracker
  3. Bake 15-18 mins in 350 oven, depending on how much crunch you like. Remove from baking sheet with a metal spatula and cut into squares, triangles, or shapes of your choice. I like trapezoids.crackers
  4. Serve with oxtail pate and cukes. Pate recipe coming soon.

    My new favorite meal...breakfast, lunch, or dinner

    My new favorite meal...breakfast, lunch, or dinner

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, crackers, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, gluten-free, Recipes

6 responses to “Seriously Good Crackers

  1. Li

    OMG, I’ve been looking for a recipe for crackers. I must try this! Thanks for sharing!

  2. mjennings26

    Oh, one more thing: you can use almond flour. I believe it’s much cheaper than hazelnut flour.

  3. mjennings26

    My pleasure! Let me know how they turn out if you make them.

  4. lailablogs

    sounds really delicious … its a must try … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  5. Oops! So sorry, I forgot to ask if you thought I could use pecan meal (finely ground) in lieu of hazelnut flour? Tx tx tx!

    • mjennings26

      I’m sure you could if you know pecan flour works for you. I think some people have trouble with it. Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

