Toasted Black Sesame Ice Cream

I feel like the nutty professor that’s always late, always arriving in rumpled jeans and with post-it notes stuck in her uncombed hair. I’m not really like that, I swear, but my ability to keep my blog updated lately seems to have suffered a major setback. I’m going to blame it on the change of weather we’re (finally) experiencing here in the PNW. It’s really been gorgeous. Even when it’s raining I’m like, hey, it’s 50F! Rejoice!

A few weeks ago I had dinner at Ping. It was awesome. I chose carefully, but still suffered for several days due, I think, to the spice level of several dishes. I won’t be going back anytime soon, but you know what, it was totally worth it.

One thing that was incredible was this toasted black sesame ice cream. I left the place thinking, I just have to make that at home. After a few attempts, I think I’ve perfected the recipe.

And I’m here to tell you: FORGET about using milk and eggs. Just put that out of your mind right now. Coconut milk really is the best possible ice cream-making liquid available to womankind. Of that, I am convinced. Here’s my evidence:

  • You don’t have to make the mixture a day in advance. You can just whip up your coconut milk-based ice cream mixture on a whim and toss it into your ice cream maker.
  • No fuss with scalding milk and tempering eggs.
  • Coconut milk is super allergen-friendly and vegan for all your food freaky friends. Not that vegans are freaky…gawd!! Don’t put words in my mouth!
  • It tastes really good and adds a nice flavor to almost any ice cream flavor.
  • It freezes so much better than milk-based homemade ice creams. (Actually, this is the very best reason).

Okay, so, just for you, I did look around on the Web a bit for other recipes, just to see what was out there. But they’re all milk-based and we’ve already discussed why you want to use coconut milk, so I’m not even going to link there.

I love this ice cream. In addition to its rich, nutty flavor, there’s this fab texture thing going on with this ice cream that makes my mouth so very happy.

Okay, enough talk and blabber! Here’s the recipe. Let me know if you try this at home.

Toasted Black Sesame Ice Cream

1 can coconut milk

1/4 c toasted black sesame seeds

1/3 c agave syrup

dash of salt

  1. Put your ice cream bowls in the freezer.
  2. Toast the sesames in your toaster oven or under your broiler. If you’re doing it under your broiler, be very careful not to burn them. Because they are black, you really have to go by smell here. Buy extra in case you burn your first (few) batches. I tossed mine a few times with a spatula to toast them evenly. Here’s a pic of the finished product.

    Toasted sesames

    Toasted sesames

  3. Toss all ingredients into your blender. Pulse a few times, wiping down the sides with a spatula between pulses so that you get all the seeds blended. I pulsed a total of 4-5 times.
    sesameicecreamblender
  4. Process in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
    icecreammakersesame
  5. Serve in your fresh-from-the-freezer, very cold ice cream bowls.

    Mmmm!

    Mmmm!

Yes, it really is that easy. Enjoy!

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Gluten-free vegan, ice cream, Recipes

10 responses to “Toasted Black Sesame Ice Cream

  1. omg, I must have some of that RIGHT NOW. Your photos are so beautiful- the black sesame seeds are just incredibly textured and gorgeous. And I LOVE coconut milk.

    But we don’t have an ice cream maker. I must do something about that.

  2. mjennings26

    Ice cream maker at Goodwill: $10. Toasted black sesame ice cream: priceless!

  3. I agree. If you are going to keep posting these amazing ice cream recipes I am definitely going to have to get an ice cream maker!

  4. Tamara

    I first tried black sesame ice cream at the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory on a visit to NYC and the taste has haunted me for the past two years. I have since tried various black sesame ice cream bars and ice cream from the local Asian grocery stores but all have paled in comparison. I just found a fully functional ice cream maker sitting by a dumpster at my apartment complex and I think that your recipe will be my first attempt at homemade ice cream. I was pleasantly surprised that you incorporated coconut milk too! It has been my “secret” ingredient for making pumpkin and sweet potato pies for years!

  5. mjennings26

    Hi Tamara,
    Definitely let me know how it goes! I think it will taste even better with a *free* ice cream maker. That is a fantastic find.

    I have read a little about the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory. Sounds wonderful. It’s on my ever expanding NYC trip food list.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  6. Irene

    I really want to make this ice cream! I have a hard time trying to find agave syrup here, what can i substitute it with?

    Thanks!

  7. mjennings26

    Hi Irene,
    My first inclination would be to substitute with a 1/3 to a 1/2 c of honey. It should taste pretty sweet in its “batter” state. Otherwise, of course, if you can use sugar, go for it.

  8. triptup

    do you use light or dark agave? the nice thing about agave, though, is that it’s low glycemic for those of us who need to know

  9. mjennings26

    Hi Triptup,
    Great question. I use whatever I have lying around.

    When I taste light and dark by themselves in a taste test manner, I can taste the difference. But my palate is not sophisticated enough to tease out the difference in the final ice cream product.

    Let me know if you try this!

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    Melanie

  10. Pingback: Black Sesame Ice-Cream « How I Boil Water

Leave a Reply

