SPAM Party!

As I mentioned a few days ago, The Man and I had a nice little SPAM party recently, for two. A SPAM party is when you have the pleasure of introducing one of America’s finest canned meat products to someone who has never tasted it before, such as, The Man.

I have fond childhood memories of fried SPAM sandwiches, followed by fond adult memories of SPAM sushi in Hawaii. They love SPAM in Hawaii. Who can blame them?

spamcan

SPAM: It's "Crazy Tasty!"

First, naturally, The Man needed some information. So, we inspected the can.

The can is chock full of interesting SPAM-toids (factoids for SPAM), such as the thickness one might cut the slices, and the direction in which one should cut the slices.

In addition, there are instructions for making a “SPAMburger” and some other fantastic product copy. For example, once you know how to make a SPAMburger: “You wield a delicious skill that has far-reaching consequences. Do not use it for evil.” SPAM writer, if you are reading this, well done! Oh yeah, and SPAM is gluten-free.

SPAM-toids

SPAM-toids

Some choice quotes from The Man as he inspected the can: “What’s in it? Is there liver in it?” (turning can around in his hands, looking for the ingredients list). “Pork with ham…” (contemplative expression), “Whatever that means.”

Next up, cooking technique. I’m sure there are dozens of ways to cook SPAM, or not cook SPAM (“You can eat it raw, right?”), and create a tasty meal. In fact, here is a collection of tantalizing SPAM recipes to peruse. “Polynesian Bake” sounds like a real winner. Let me know if you try that one.

In my family, we always cut the SPAM into slices (“Infant” width according to the label) and then fried them in a skillet for sandwiches, like so:

SPAM-pan-fry-crust

SPAM-pan-fry-crust

Then, depending on one’s mood, one would either slap the slices onto sandwich bread with mayo, catsup, and/or mustard, or get real creative and make SPAM appetizers with Ritz crackers and cheddar cheese. This made a fantastic snack for sitting in front of the TV watching American Bandstand or some PBS documentary about Florida’s Okefenokee Swamp, again, depending on one’s mood.

SPAM-snacks

SPAM-snacks

The Man’s final verdict? “Not bad. Not great. I was expecting it to be more…bland.”

I’d say that’s a great compliment to SPAM.

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Recipes

6 responses to “SPAM Party!

  1. oh man, those shots bring back memories. Dad used to cook spam and eggs, add toast, and that was a standard practice. I think I have spam in my veins after all those years đŸ™‚

  2. Neighbor Nancy

    Oh, I am so delightfully amused! thanks.
    I particularly appreciate the audio/visual pairing.

    Isn’t funny how you just associate certain things together.

    I have an odd buffalo wings and James Bond association; they just pair well.

  3. RCMB

    oh, my mouth is watering looking at these spam pics.

    i’ve been vegetarian for many, many years now but if for some weird reason i HAD to eat meat again… it would be spam. i love it. maybe it’s because i’m from hawai’i and as you say, they love spam there.

    for all the things you can’t eat… at least you have spam to make up for it. i’m a little jealous right now.

  4. mjennings26

    I hate to say it, but it feels really good to have someone be jealous of what I CAN eat!

  5. Jess

    This post is hilarious. In fact, I’m thoroughly enjoying reading your blog. My husband is from Hawaii and LOVES Spam. Me, well, I think it tastes like cat food. Or at least how cat food smells. We live in Portland also and my husband orders spam at just about any restaurant that has it (read: any Hawaiian restaurant in Portland). I have recently been diagnosed with some food intolerances – gluten, potato, dairy, sugar (refined) – so have been doing a ton of research and reading. Thanks so much for sharing your story and recipes. I love food, I love to bake and cook, so I too experience bouts of depression at the pizza I can’t have, at least for now. Although I would choose crab over pizza any day (perhaps except for Scholls :)). Thanks again!

  6. mjennings26

    Hi Jess, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I am SO SORRY to hear that you have been diagnosed with food allergies. I hope you start to feel better after eliminating the problem foods–that’s the only consolation after getting a diagnosis–at least you can stop feeling like crap!

    Best of luck to you with the food-allergy adventure.

Leave a Reply

