See Me Read

I will be reading at the VoiceCatcher 3 anthology showcase at the First Unitarian Church in downtown Portland on Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. The address is 1011 SW 12th Avenue. Come on down and support this awesome literary journal! I hope to see you there.

In other writing news, thanks to Writers’ Dojo, I will be attending this weekend’s workshop at the Oregon Writers Colony on the coast. The leader is Dorothy Blackcrow Mack. I can hardly wait! I’ve been obsessing about it all week. All of the food is potluck, which of course makes me nervous, but I think it’s going to work out fine. As long as I have my peanut butter, I can travel to Mars and back.

I have really been jonesing for a writing residency so I can get out of my life for a few weeks and get some quality time with my novel, so this opportunity has come at a perfect time. I’ll have Friday, Saturday, and Sunday to work on it. It’s amazing how difficult it is to revise a novel. I thought writing it would be the hard part. Little did I know. Revising it seems way harder.

In food news, The Man and I recently had a little Spam party at our house, just the two of us. Yes, you read that right. The Man had never eaten Spam before. What childhood could be complete without fried Spam sandwiches? Apparently they do not eat a lot of fried Spam in New England. Photos and details of the Spam party soon to come.

Tantalizing, isn’t it?

3 Comments

Filed under Food allergies

3 responses to “See Me Read

  1. Thank the gods for coastal retreat houses dedicated to literary arts. And thank you for the VoiceCatcher news. Hope we can make it there to see you.

  2. Congratulations, Melanie! I will be at your reading in spirit.

  3. I wish I could be there for your reading. And that colony-house looks totally awesome!! It makes me want to join….

Leave a Reply

