Roast Chicken Weekend

Apologies again for not posting in a while. I took a long weekend down to the Bay Area to celebrate my mother’s 70th birthday. Happy Birthday, Mom! I gave her a fabulous red-sequined cowboy hat to go with her purple dress. However, she said she may just add purple feathers to the hat and call it a day. You get to do whatever you want when you’re 70.

Food-wise it was fine. My parents made a special effort to make beans, and then they had fish and whole chickens available for me to make dinner for them and my sisters (a very clever way to get their guest to do the cooking!) The rest of the time I ate raw veggies, nuts, peanut butter (like it’s going out of style), and cheese. And buckets of iced tea sweetened with agave syrup.

This is my life now. It works for me, but I have moments of serious grief and despair. The grief is about not being able to come home from a trip after an eleven-hour drive and just order pizza. I also feel bad for The Man because he does not really get to do this either. He could, but he generally chooses not to. The despair is about thinking that I may have to live the rest of my life eating this way. I do much better when I focus on the day-to-day and how much my health has improved. I’ll be posting an update about that soon.

In the meantime, I thought I’d let you know about my favorite recipe for roast chicken. I make it without the garlic and their recipe for pan gravy. I make a pan gravy from the drippings by sauteing an onion in butter until soft, then adding a 1/4 c of wine to deglaze the pan. Then I add some salt and whatever herbs I have around (thyme and parsley are always good), plus the drippings. Then I simmer it down to gravy-consistency. I use a boat motor to blend (or not since my parents don’t have one), et voila. Then I eat chicken for days and make stock from the bones.

I hope I don’t have to do any of this when I’m 70.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Recipes

One response to “Roast Chicken Weekend

  1. Foodie McBody

    I am so excited for this recipe. I recently had a totally horrible roasted chicken debacle and have been chicken-phobic since. But you have given me the courage to try again. I am going to use your recipe.

    I’m sorry about the grief and despair. I do understand it. I often want to throw myself on the floor and have a tantrum because I can’t eat the things I want without bad consequences. But it sounds like you got through this time bravely and in an excellent way.

    When I was traveling this weekend, everyone around me seemed to be eating this extremely delicious looking pizza from California Pizza Kitchen (the good kind!!). That grief and despair kind of shot through me and then I calmed down and had a cup of soup instead.

    Moment by moment, huh?

Leave a Reply

