Pork Roast Party

I’ve been thinking of my blog lately as my own personal cookbook, like I’m finally writing down and collecting my favorite recipes here for myself (and hopefully others). The criteria lately has been: is this a recipe or technique I’d tell my sisters about?

Which brings us to pork roast. If there’s one thing I do well, it’s pork roast. Not that it takes a culinary genius. Pork roast is one of those things that makes you look like a really good cook. I don’t have any pictures of this roast because I make it so often that in my mind it’s as mundane as spaghetti or meatloaf. The funny thing is, it’s ridiculously good, economical, and I would give the recipe to my sisters.

So here it is:

Insanely Tasty Pork Roast

3-5 lb pork shoulder

3 t salt

2 t coriander seeds

1 t cumin seeds, toasted

1 t fenugreek

1 t red pepper flakes

2 T olive oil

  1. Grind all but the roast and olive oil in your spice grinder.
  2. Pour the olive oil into a bowl and mix in the ground-up spices.
  3. Lovingly rub your roast with the oil-spice mixture. It’s going to feed you for days, so treating it tenderly will make it taste better. Also, some people like to cut off the fat of the roast. I’m against this because I love fat.
  4. Wrap up the roast and place it in the fridge overnight.
  5. The next day, preheat your oven to 275F around 2-3 p.m.
  6. Unwrap the roast and place it in a dutch oven. Then place a sheet of foil gently over the top and put the lid on. This is a technique I learned from Sally Schneider which works really well.
  7. Place the dutch oven in the oven and let roast cook for 3 hours at 275F.
  8. Remove and let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving.
  9. Pig out. Gawwwd, I’m punny.
  10. Freeze the leftovers. They’re great taken to work in individual freezer servings.

Let me know if you make this because, really, it’s one of my favorite recipes.

Leave a comment

Filed under pork roast, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

