Felted Purse

Warning, this post is not at all about food.

I got really fascinated by felt this past December. Of course, I wanted to find a way to do it that was really easy. So, I started with a couple of wool sweaters that I got at the thrift store. I washed them in hot water and soap a couple of times with a pair of jeans, and then laid them flat to dry. Et voila! Felt!

I made a couple of potholders for RCMB and also completed a more ambitious project: the purse.

This started out as a Gap sweater for a girl, so it was small to begin with. It also had a hood. Before I sent it through the washer, I sewed the bottom together and the arm holes together. After the washer, I sewed the arms together to form the shoulder strap and added the yellow buttons.

I told my friends and family all about this purse over the holidays, so now I have to post a bunch of pictures for them (to believe it).

Felting is fun!

feltedpurselaidout

wearingfeltpurse

smallbuttons

largebutton

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Felted Purse

  1. OH MY GOSH, THAT IS SO CUTE!!! You are brilliant! I want to make those for everyone I know now! Better yet…maybe you should sell them. 😉

  2. mjennings26

    Why… thank you, thank you very much (spoken in best Elvis accent)!

Leave a Reply

