Low-carb-ish Biscuits and Gravy

POST CORRECTION: Very helpful readers have pointed out to me that soy, agave, and cream are illegal on the SCD. I welcome those comments and corrections and have changed the title of this post accordingly. If you have proper substitutions or a great recipe, please forward it to me so that I may learn. This recipe works great for me and my allergies, but of course won’t work for everyone. Note that I have chosen not to edit the original text beyond the title update and this correction. Thanks, readers!

==

Today is the happiest day of my life since I started the Specific Carbohydrate Diet on July 15, 2008. I successfully made a BISCUIT!

Yes, dear readers, I have tried and failed at making SCD pastry without eggs and almond flour. But today, this historic day, I have succeeded! I have climbed the mountain!

Just look at this little beauty:

biscuitcloseup

It seems like no one else will ever need this recipe but me, so I’m basically recording it for my own reference. Fine by me!

SCD Biscuits

1 1/2 c garbanzo bean flour

1/2 c hazelnut flour

1/4 c coconut flour

3 T palm oil (the Spectrum vegetable shortening)

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/2 c apple sauce or apple butter

1/2 or 1 T agave syrup or honey

1 c heavy cream (you can substitute lowfat buttermilk for way less calories)

Makes 8-10

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients (flours, baking powder, and salt).
  3. Cut in the palm oil using your fingertips or a pastry knife. When you’re done, it should look like this:
    biscuitdrymix
  4. Mix the cream, liquid sweetener, and applesauce together, then pour the wets into the dry mix and gently stir with a wooden spoon until all is just moist; don’t over mix. If it looks too dry, then add 1-3 extra tablespoons of cream.
  5. Drop by the 1/4 c onto an oiled sheet pan. Bake at 350 for 19-20 minutes.

Here’s what they look like just out of the oven:

biscuitsonsheet

And here’s what they look like with some cashew gravy on top:

biscuitgravy

A note about sweetener: if your applesauce is sweetened, then take it easy on your honey or agave. Remember that the hazelnut and coconut flours and even unsweetened applesauce will lend plenty of sweetness to the mix. If the biscuits turn out too sweet for you, just call them scones and then adjust next time you make them.

I’m thinking of this as a basic biscuit mix, to which I can add various combos. Adding orange zest and walnuts will make a nice scone, or cranberries and walnuts, or cinnamon and banana, etc. You get the idea. I’m going to have fun with it. I made an SCD biscuit!

And just for reference, here’s my cashew gravy recipe.

Cashew Gravy

1 onion, diced

1 T veg oil

1/2 c cashew butter

approx 1 c water

1 tsp soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Makes about 2 cups

  1. Saute the onion in oil until they’re golden.
  2. Add the cashew butter and mix into the onion mix.
  3. Add water a few tablespoons at a time and mix in while heating on the stovetop. How much water you add will depend on how thick you like your gravy.
  4. Add the soy sauce and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Blend in the blender or use your hand blender to smooth out the gravy. Serve warm. Keeps great in the fridge.
10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

10 responses to “Low-carb-ish Biscuits and Gravy

  1. These *are* beautiful biscuits.

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks, Mary!

  3. You are truely amazing and those look so good! I have actually run accross a few people online lately who are doing the SCD. If I can remember who they were I will be sure and send them this way.

  4. mjennings26

    Thanks, AM! That sounds great.

  5. Wait a second…Heavy cream??? I thought you weren’t doing dairy.

  6. mjennings26

    Yep! I’ve been eating some dairy lately with success. HALLELUJAH!

    I keep meaning to update My Health Project page with my recent dietary changes, but just haven’t gotten the time.

    Hopefully I will find more time to work on my blog in 2009 (one can dream!)

  7. sky

    I did not think we were allowed to eat garbanzo bean flour.

  8. mjennings26

    Hi Sky,
    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I always assumed bean flour was SCD legal, but your post made me investigate. I looked at the legal/illegal list here:http://www.breakingtheviciouscycle.info/legal/legal_illegal_a-c.htm and there is a note about bean flour likely not being soaked before being ground, so that the starch content would presumably be so high as to upset delicate stomachs. I trust that logic, but for myself I have found bean flour no problem (also, I don’t eat it that often). So perhaps I should clarify that in this recipe.

    Thanks again for the comment!
    Melanie

  9. bekah

    Hallelujah! Just the recipe I’ve been looking for. 🙂 Thanks a bunch for posting!

  10. mjennings26

    Hi Bekah,
    Well, that is just music to my ears! Thanks so much for letting me know because I really felt like no one else in the world would ever find this recipe helpful.

    I make these all the time now and keep them frozen in my freezer. 50 seconds on the bread defrost function of my microwave works perfectly.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

