You Say Filbert, I Say Hazelnut

If you have old-school parents like mine, you might have heard a hazelnut called a filbert and vice versa. This may have led you to scratch your head and wonder if there is a difference between a hazelnut and a filbert. I’m here to tell you that there is!

According to this fascinating site, hazelnuts are grown commercially only in the Pacific Northwest. Filberts, while similar, are of European origin.

Why the sudden interest in hazelnuts, MJ?

  • Well, first, they’re in season and I do live in the PNW (where, frankly, not enough attention is given to hazelnuts).
  • Second, I went to this amazing fruit tree show (and I thought I had obsessions) and saw hazelnuts in the shell for the very first time. I’m not sure if “shell” is the right terminology here.
  • Third, and really the most important reason, I want to make hazelnut paste using honey instead of sugar. It shouldn’t be that hard. I’m thinking once I make it, I can store it in the cupboard or fridge and whip it out whenever the hazelnut-coffee or hazelnut-cocoa or hazelnut-ice cream mood strikes me (often).

In the meantime, here are some shots of hazelnuts in the shell for you:

moturkhazelnuts

americanahazelnuts

hazelnutsontable

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan

6 responses to “You Say Filbert, I Say Hazelnut

  1. Always great to find more PNW vegan bloggers like myself. Some GREAT stuff here!!! I found your blog thru a search for Albuquerque’s Annapurna, but stayed ’cause you’re vegan and from somewhere not too terribly far from me!

  2. mjennings26

    Hi Tofu Mom,
    It’s great to hear from you! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your sweet note.

    I am actually not vegan, I just play one on TV. No, but seriously, I am not vegan, just have had problems with dairy and eggs in the past, so many of my recipes and interests necessitate a vegan-friendly approach.

    I’m always interested in vegan desserts, so I will definitely check out your blog.

    Best,
    Melanie

  3. I wonder what this means in terms of allergies. They tested Emily for filberts but not for hazelnuts and when I told my mom she said it was because they are the same thing. Not that I’m going to go giving Emily random nuts that I’m not sure about, but now I’m curious.

  4. mjennings26

    My guess would be that since they are in the same botanical family, she would still be allergic to hazelnuts. Some people have told me that because rice is in the same botanical family as wheat (they are both in the same grass category), I could react to both of them. Crazy world.

  5. That’s some crazy looking food! Reminds me of the time I tried baking chestnuts… let’s just say that either it didn’t turn out well, or I just don’t like chestnuts.

  6. mjennings26

    This is a test to see if my blavatar has usurped my avatar. This is only a test. Walk. Do not run.

Leave a Reply

