10,000 Hits: Reflections on Food Blogging

Today we’re celebrating a pretty awesome milestone here at AFFFG: 10,000 page views. And we haven’t even been at it a year! Nor have we made our blog more pretty by purchasing the customize-your-blog package from WordPress, which we have had very good intentions of doing for the last six months.

Of course, 10,000 page views doesn’t mean I have 10,000 readers. But still, it’s gratifying to know my blog has been hit that many times.

When I started this blog, I had just come off the high known as winning NaNoWriMo. Basically, during the month of November 2007, I wrote 50,000 words of a novel-in-progress. This “novel” ended up being more like a food memoir, but the point is that the NaNo experience taught me that I can write a lot, every day, and I’ll never run out of things to say. Those’re things I actually never knew before. Starting AFFFG extended that NaNo high a bit longer.

Exceeding the 10,000 hits mark has made me reflect on the nature of blogging–the good, the bad, and the ugly. Why do I blog? I’m still not totally sure, but some reasons include:

  • Helping other people deal with food allergies by providing good recipes. Since I have to live my life this way, I might as well share what I learn with others.
  • Keeping my family and friends up to date on The Man’s and my life.
  • Having a good excuse to take pictures of food and messing around with my camera, which I love.

My most popular pages are, by far, Gluten-free Rice Krispie Treats and Going to See the Chinese Witch Doctor (aka My Health Project page). Each of those pages have been viewed nearly 1,000 times. What does this tell me?

  • People really like Rice Krispie Treats and want to know how to make a gluten-free version.
  • People are really searching for answers to their mysterious illnesses (as I am).

I’m also able to track the search engine keywords that bring visitors to my site. Some of the more amusing keywords have been:

  • Crack rocks (Mama’s Little Baby Loves Cracklins Cracklins). Apparently many people want to buy crack rocks online or know what crack rocks look like. I imagine them looking at my photo of duck cracklins and scratching their heads.
  • Okie food. I thought I was the only person who ever thought about this.
  • Chinese witch doctors. Who knew people even typed such word combinations into Google?
  • Make marmalade. Too bad they find my post about what not to do.

AFFFG has been a good, multi-course meal for me thus far. I hope you 10,000 page viewers have enjoyed it too.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan

One response to “10,000 Hits: Reflections on Food Blogging

  1. Biz

    Congrats on the milestone!

Leave a Reply

