Talk to Your Food

Interesting food weekend! Really, my favorite kind because I ate a lot of different stuff. I ate at Gold Coin (hole-in-the-wall Chinese), Park Kitchen (upscale Pacific Northwest), and Vita Cafe (downhome, heavily vegan). Now there’s variety for you!

I did some of this eating with my food-obsessed spouse, pal DL, and, S, DL’s friend visiting from LA (sorry for the alphabet soup). There’s not much in life I enjoy more than eating and talking about food with other food-crazy people. And, even better, S has a nut allergy! It was so awesome not being the only food freak at the table for once, though I did feel a little sorry for the server at Park Kitchen.

This roundabout relates to a realization I had this weekend that I need to think critically about food, and, well, pretty much everything else, too. It’s just not enough for me to say: “That was a good meal,” and leave it at that. No. I need to engage with my food. I need to converse with it: How did they make you, little cod fritter? Where, exactly, did this patacabra come from? Why are they calling this consomme when it is clearly not consomme? Call me crazy, but this is how I am made. I seriously do not get people who say “That was a good meal” and then go home and sleep.

Yes, this is the person with multiple food allergies. How did this happen to me?! I’m still baffled.

In other news, I’ve been trying to make sense of Twitter and Foodbuzz. Who would want to follow (“twit”) an obscure blogger? And why put ads on your blog for a few extra cents a month? Or maybe it’s more than a few extra cents? If you have the answers to these burning questions, I’d love to hear it. If you want to reply confidentially, e-mail me directly at mjennings26 at yahoo.

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Restaurants

5 responses to “Talk to Your Food

  1. Thanks for that post, I feel a little better. I am slightly OCD by nature and I wonder sometimes if that is the reason I am CONSTANTLY going over food in my head. I mean literally there is hardly a moment in the day when I am not meal planning (even sub conciously at times)… how can I make this allergen free, can I make 2 versions at once, how can I get more protein in it for Nikki? I have 2 meat eaters with limited allergies, one vegetarian with allergies, and one with so many allergies no one else will eat her food (then there’s me…I eat whatever doesn’t get eaten). Whew, sorry I went off on a little tangent there.
    As for the ads on blogs…
    I know some people make money on theirs but I am one that makes pennies a WEEK. If you are only in it for the money there are ways to capitalize if you don’t care about content. I have a feeling, though, that you would be like me and would want your ads to relate to what you are writing about in which case the income is more limited.
    BTW…feel free to cllick on my ads anytime ;
    Wow, I’ chatty this morning, maybe I should have written a post! Thanks for letting me ramble. Glad to hear you had such a lovely culinary weekend!

  2. speaking of OCD…
    that semicolon is supposed to be a winky face…
    ohhhh now that’s bugging me! 😉 there

  3. mjennings26

    AM,
    Thanks so much for that perspective. I am still torn on the ads issue, Foodbuzz, and all the other marketing things one can take on to get more traffic. It’s overwhelming.

    You are *amazing* in your ability to deal with your family’s allergies and food needs. And the fact that you actually seem to have fun with it is just inspiring.

  4. sea

    Interesting question. Having ads on a blog only makes sense if the author has a certain amount of traffic (so one gets more than pennies, which isn’t worth it) and their own, original, interesting content. I don’t think much of sites that are just clearly created for the purpose of advertising (with no real content) but if someone is putting their heart and soul into writing a blog, they might as well try to get a little additional income out of it. I know people who make their living writing for their blog, and then there are those who host ads for Amazon (for example) for the fun of being able to get enough for a free book or CD a month. Either way, when comments are few and far between, it can be a way to justify to yourself the amount of time you put into the blog (cough cough), and also a fun way to track how your blog has progressed. I don’t see it as being any different than advertising in a newspaper or magazine- except of course the author doesn’t get any paycheck outside of extra “tips” from ad revenue. Also, many companies allow you to ban certain types of things from being advertised on your page, which I personally appreciate.

    I decided to join Foodbuzz because I felt that it was the next step for my blog’s development. I was torn between Foodbuzz and Blogher- both pretty cool companies, IMO, that do try to support their so-called “featured publishers.” I decided to go with Foodbuzz because they were more focused on food and I liked their fresh design, and I thought it might be a fun way to get to know other food bloggers. I haven’t had time to participate on the page itself as much as I had hoped, but I’ve enjoyed it. Right after i joined, they sent me really cute business cards, and to celebrate their upcoming launch they sent us aprons and spatulas. I also think some of their dinner events look like fun. *shrug*

    To me, blogging is a fun way to share my adventures in the kitchen with other people. I really hope that people find my blog helpful and it gives them ideas about how to make being gluten-free more fun… I don’t see that as being in any way in conflict with hosting ads, except that getting some money (not enough to make a huge difference, but enough to possibly pay for some groceries) makes me feel less guilty about taking time out of studying for my PhD to write for it… 😉

    -Sea

    PS I bet you didn’t expect this big long response all of a sudden! To be honest, I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately and somehow you inspired me to start writing.

  5. mjennings26

    Wow, Seamaiden. Thank you so much for such a considered response. You have given me *much* food for thought.

Leave a Reply

