(Vegan) Coffee Ice Cream

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve complained about being too busy on this blog…well, I certainly wouldn’t be panicking about my tanked 401K right now. But seriously, I don’t actually have enough of a 401K to panic, so I suppose I should count my blessings there.

The point is: I get busy, and then I neglect the things I love, like my blog, and my novel, and The Man. What could I possibly be doing that takes up all my time?

For one thing, developing recipes. Yes, I am a slave to recipe development. I tell you, if Cook’s Illustrated ever needs a meticulous recipe tester, I’m their girl!

This week we have been making coffee ice cream, from coconut milk, of course (back to our regularly scheduled programs: Cooking with Coconut Milk. Maybe I should rename my blog “Lots of Coconut Milk Recipes”).

First, we started out, as usual, ill-prepared (do not mention this to the Cook’s Illustrated people!) We got a hankering for coffee ice cream, looked in the cupboard to see what we had lying around waiting to transform itself into coffee ice cream, and found a can of coconut milk, honey, and some canned coffee grounds that we keep for company since we ourselves are not big coffee drinkers.

So, with these modest ingredients, we set off on our journey.

Mmmmmm...

Mmmmmm...

As you can see, we mixed the ingredients together and then ran them through a strainer.

Coffee Ice Cream Mixture with Split Peas Lurking in Background

Coffee Ice Cream Mixture with Split Peas Lurking in Background

What we learned from this exercise was this:

  1. It’s very difficult to take groovy cooking action shots whilst The Man is out mountain biking.
  2. The Brightness/Contrast filter on our photo-modifying software kicks butt and makes for very Martha-like blog photos.
  3. Coffee grounds are actually very finely ground and they don’t take well to straining, leaving us with an ice cream mixture more grainy than one would like.
  4. That’s okay because it still tasted really good and we will teach you how to avoid this problem in our final recipe.

So you’re probably wondering by now if I’ll include a recipe for this goodness. Here it is:

(Vegan) Coffee Ice Cream

1 can of coconut milk

3 tbs instant coffee – decaf or regular (instant coffee avoids the fine grounds problem)

3 tbs honey or sweetener of your choice (it should be very sweet in its pre-freeze form factor)

Serves two people very hungry for breakfast.

Instructions:

  1. Whisk all the ingredients together.
  2. Heat the mixture slightly until the honey or sweetener is dissolved.
  3. Place the mixture in the fridge and cool thoroughly.
  4. Run through your ice cream maker like normal. Mine took only 15 minutes, and this thing is a klunker from 1979.
  5. Mange!

Yet more lessons we learned on the coffee ice cream journey:

  1. Homemade coconut milk-based ice creams freeze much better than real dairy ice creams. Just take them out of the freezer and let them sit for ten minutes before digging in.
  2. Coconut milk-based ice cream does not taste like coconut milk, at least with this recipe, which just tasted like good ol’ coffee ice cream (hallelujah!) I look forward to trying all kinds of flavors now to see how much the coconut flavor does or does not come through.
  3. And, my favorite lesson: Coffee ice cream should be eaten for breakfast, otherwise, it will keep you awake all night.

Variations on this recipe would include Mocha Chip, in which you would add 1 cup of coarsely chopped chocolate chips to the recipe. If you want to get really fancy, you could top it with raspberry sauce (heat up some frozen raspberries, add sugar, and blender-ize). In this case, you would call it something like Raspberry Mochachino or something equally outlandish to make it taste better and wow your guests with your culinary and verbal prowess.

Coffee Ice Cream

Coffee Ice Cream

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, ice cream, Recipes

5 responses to “(Vegan) Coffee Ice Cream

  1. I’m thinkin’ it’s time for me to finally break down and buy an ice cream maker!

  2. mjennings26

    Amen, sister! One word: Goodwill. I got mine for $10!

  3. The style of writing is quite familiar . Have you written guest posts for other bloggers?

  4. sraddish

    sounds great! i use agave syrup in my coconut milk ice creams, then you don’t have to bother heating it. although with this recipe, heating may be necessary to dissolve the instant coffee.

  5. mjennings26

    Indeed. The flavor of honey and coffee is quite pleasing to me, but you could use 1/3 c of agave syrup in this recipe. That’s what I use for all of the other ice cream recipes on this blog. I hope you enjoy! Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

