Food Boredom

Every now and again I’m going to have to deviate from the AFFFG blog charter because I want to keep my blog active, but I don’t have anything food-related to share with you all. If my eating life were normal, there’d be plenty to share, but since I’ve taken the food oath of the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (refer to My Health Project page for details), I’ve really been bored with food. Or let me rephrase that: I’m lacking imagination around the food I am currently eating. Most meals lately have been some variation of meat with vegetables, meat with fruit, bacon, hazelnut-honey cookies, and peanut butter. My health has definitely improved, which keeps me plugging away with the diet, but I am not yet cured. I am just very encouraged.

Since I haven’t been doing much in the way of food, I’ve been spending my free time with other things. For example, I signed up to volunteer at the Museum of Contemporary Craft downtown, which I’m pretty over-the-moon about. And I’ve been working a lot on my novel, which I’m happy to report is almost done (after six years of working on it). I’m reading more and continue swimming, trying to swim a little farther each time I’m in the pool. I’m clinging to the final days of summer here in Portland. Today the Man and I will probably go hiking. So look forward to more posts about random things going on in my life.

However, I feel bad for not talking about food. That’s what AFFFG is supposed to be all about, my life in food.

When I get those rare moments of perspective on my life, I see how much it has radically changed in the last year. This time last year I was in a cast for my broken ankle and would soon develop blood clots in my leg and lungs. Next came the arthritis and all the other crazy symptoms. When I think about that, I do feel better about my current situation, despite the food limitations I’m experimenting with. Sure, it sucks, but these are cards I’ve been dealt.

I’m hoping my attitude around food changes soon. I remember when I first went gluten-free how overwhelming it seemed and how much I lost in terms of actual foods and my identity around food. Yet simultaneously, I didn’t really care because I thought I would get rid of my rash without gluten (sadly, that didn’t happen). At some point, I saw all that I could eat and got to work baking and getting excited about the new reality of gluten-free cooking.

Now, I don’t feel that way. I’m still stuck in the “all that I can’t eat” way of thinking and depressing myself. I hope that very soon, however, I will change that and get excited and imaginative about food once again. I think this is just a necessary stage in the grief process. I hope so anyway.

Please, dear readers, if you have any grain-free, sugar-free, dairy-free, egg-free, almond-free dessert recipes, send them on! I’m grateful for my hazelnut-honey cookies, but there’s got be something else out there for me.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan

4 responses to “Food Boredom

  1. Sounds like it’s time to try out all those sugar free popsicle flavours you never got around to. šŸ™‚
    I just noticed that in my last post I referred to you as a “dear friend”. Is that too familiar for two people who have never met? That really is how I have come to think of you, but I have a tendancy to latch on to anyone I can relate to (since that’s such a rare occurance). Anyway, if I ever get too “up in your face” let me know.

  2. mjennings26

    We are certainly “dear cyberfriends”, Allergy Mom.

    You must have been reading my mind because I DID try some new popsicles tonite! The smoothie part (before I put them in the freezer) tasted pretty darn good. I’ll report soon on how they performed as actual popsicles.

  3. Mel,

    I love this reflection on how the trials and tribulations of your food experiments have affected your life. As much as I enjoy your recipes (and want to adapt some of them using ingredients I can get in Tena), I know I for one would be fascinated to read more about what all of this has meant for you in the grand scheme . . .

  4. mjennings26

    Hi Mary,
    Thanks for the comment. I’ve been trying to update My Health Project page with more overall insights about how food/health affect my everyday life. It’s funny, but since this is very much a journey and not yet a destination, I often have a hard time seeing the Big Picture and just struggle a lot with the day-to-day reality. In other words, none of this is yet in the past tense, as I wish it were. So it goes.

Leave a Reply

