Gluten-free Vegan Popsicles That Taste Good

I have this problem with vegan food, which is that it often sucks. I’m sorry, people…shoot me and my blog, but that’s been my experience. And by all means, please send me vegan recipes that don’t suck and that I’m also not totally allergic to (hello, soy!)

I’ve been making these really awesome (vegan) popsicles with coconut milk lately. Here’s the basic recipe:

MJ’s Tasty Popsicle (GF & vegan)

1 can of coconut milk

1/2 c powdered sugar

  1. Mix these two ingredients together and pour into your popsicle-making apparatus. This will make about 5 popsicles, depending on your apparatus.

    Popsicles in vitro

    Popsicles in vitro

  2. Freeze.
  3. Eat.

Here are some variations:

  • For coconut popsicles, add 1 c shredded coconut. Try it toasted, too. Mmmm.
  • For any kind of fruit popsicles, add 1 c sugared-fruit.
  • For cinnamon popsicles, , add 2 tsp cinnamon (these are my current favorite).

Next I want to try:

  • Walnut and/or rum raisin
  • Cherry-chocolate
  • Pineapple
  • Lemon
  • Earl Grey (soak the tea bags in warm coconut milk)
  • Bacon and goat cheese (this is the non-vegan version)
  • Making these without sugar. I have no idea what the freezing properties of agave syrup are, but I intend to find out.

Popsicles are incredibly versatile. And because they are so easy (less than two minutes!), I feel like I just can’t go wrong.

The humble popsicle

The humble popsicle

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, gluten-free, Gluten-free vegan, ice cream, Recipes

4 responses to “Gluten-free Vegan Popsicles That Taste Good

  1. That’s so cool! My oldest asked me to buy her some really expensive coconut popsicles and I was trying to figure out how to make them. Thank you!!!

  2. mjennings26

    Awesome! Let me know how they turn out, and especially which variations you make.

  3. Pingback: Scraps of Colour.ca » Vegan Popsicles For All!!!

  4. I’ve made vegan sorbets with agave nectar, and they work fine.. they just tend to take longer to freeze, and require some “ripening” in the freezer. They do come out softer, but that could’ve been due to both the vodka and the nectar I add to my frozen treats, so I don’t know how they’d turn out for popsicles – maybe with the coconut milk in place of juice they’d come out firmer.. I’d be interested to see how they turned out!

    Oh, and on my site, while you will find garlic and sometimes almonds – you won’t find any dairy or soy! I also list many gluten-free recipes. I sample all my recipes on my omnivore friends at work, and they guarantee me they are tasty long before I ever post them…

Leave a Reply

