Eating through a Straw Sucks

I have had the gnarliest bouts of canker sores over the past year. I have no idea what is going on with that, but I can say from experience that canker sores SUCK. And they last forever.

Other things that suck are getting your tonsils removed when you’re no longer a kid, like my friend VK. Already sick of popsicles, I imagine her sucking through a straw something really detestable but good for you, like Cuisinarted broccoli or canned green beans. Mmmmm!

So in the spirit of things that don’t suck, and that you can eat with a straw, I offer this fab Mango Sherbet made with goat milk. I’m fairly certain this could easily be made with canned coconut milk for a vegan version, but I’ll leave that up to you adventurous cook-readers to let me know if you try it.

Goat Milk Mango Sherbet

2 c. goat milk

1 can mango

1 c. powdered sugar

1 T lemon juice

  1. Blend the canned mango in a blender or food processor. Strain it through a large-holed sieve (there must be a technical term for this, but I can’t think of it at the moment). If you skip this step, the mango pulp will collect in a most unattractive way on the blending mechanism of your ice cream maker. Trust me on this.
  2. Mix the blended mango with the remaining ingredients.
  3. Process the mix like ice cream in your ice cream maker.
  4. Throw your hands in the air and say, “Yeah, baby! I can eat this with a straw!”
Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, goat/sheep cheese, ice cream, Recipes

Leave a Reply

