What's Cooking, or a Day in the Life with Food Allergies

Sometimes I don’t have enough time to write a good post, but I am constantly shooting and thinking about AFFFG. So every once in a while I’m going to post pics and commentary about what’s cooking at AFFFG, along the lines of “a day in the life of a food-allergic food lover.”

So, without further ado, here’s my first installment of What’s Cooking.

We begin with a terrifically healthy breakfast:

Vegan Gluten-free Chocolate Cupcake

This is the amazing vegan chocolate cupcake from New Cascadia Traditional GF bakery, by far their best product. They sell at the Farmer’s Market at PSU on Saturdays and the Eastbank Market on Thursdays, and they have their own kiosk now over by Trader Joe’s in Northwest Portland. You really must try this tour de force.

And here we are admiring one of my favorite new vendors at the Farmer’s Market, SolPops:

Sol Pops Popsicle Stand at Portland Farmer\'s Market

This reminds me that three or four years ago I told The Man: “Man, I’d love to start a popsicle cart at the Farmer’s Market doing all kinds of crazy popsicles, like the paletas shops they have in Mexico.” I even have a folder of recipes I was saving for this project. Then, I had this great idea for a vegan GF bakery stand (hello, New Cascadia Traditional). Alas. I’m happy someone else has taken up the actual hard work of doing it, instead of just thinking about it, like me.

For lunch we take a side trip to Sellwood to some carts we’ve been wanting to try. Here’s my lunch from Kiko’s Uruapan taco truck. This tastes really flippin good, especially the carnitas, which is a good thing since Uruapan is famous for their carnitas.

Three small tacos on a paper plate

We also make a stop at Curds & Whey to try more Spanish sheep cheese. Mmmm.

Two wedges of cheese in butcher paper

Dinner looks something like this, with grilled carrots, a GrazeFest pork chop, cheese, and a salad:

Gluten-free dinner with pork chops, grilled veggies, and salad

Dessert is a little recipe we are working on at the moment that is vegan and sent to us by dear reader, RCMB. It involves coconut milk, which I am finally eating again after having gained about 72 lbs from eating it for a month trying to come up with that Chocolate Pudding recipe.

Coconut Pudding with Chocolate Chips

And what would a day be without my favorite “tea”? Mmmmmm! I really do need to stop using my Chinese “tea” as a punchline. But it’s such an easy target.

Chinese tea in glass teacup

Good eats to all, and to all a good night.

4 Comments

Filed under food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, goat/sheep cheese

4 responses to “What's Cooking, or a Day in the Life with Food Allergies

  1. Oh, sooooooo not fair!!! We really need to get to Portland! I am so happy for you though that you have so many fabulous options. I just spent a weekend at a hotel with my oldest (only allergic to peanuts) and some of her friends for her 15th birthday. It was so nice to go out to dinner without having to worry about what the little one was going to eat. I felt a little wierd, maybe even guilty, but the food was incredible and I savored every bite. Yum, that carnitas plate looks amazing!

  2. mjennings26

    I am very grateful to live in a city obsessed with food and offering so many options for people like us.

    Going out every once in a while and having a relatively “easy” dinner is not only a treat, but a necessity, sister!

  3. I love it! The more I read your blog, the more I really want to move to Portland!!! I am definitely heading that way in the next few weeks!

  4. mjennings26

    Hi M-Elle!
    Thanks so much for the comment. Portland really is an amazing town. I love it. Do check out the Grain Damaged blog (link in my right sidebar) if you are planning a visit; they have great GF resources and info. We are also a great town for raw and vegan, which I think is one of your food interests. One of my favorite vegan places is Vita Cafe (not exclusively vegan, but has a lot of vegan options). Have fun!

Leave a Reply

