At the Market: Chickpeas

Yummy, people! Yummy!

Chick Peas in a Plastic Grocery Bag

What are those? Those, my friends, are fresh chickpeas. Let’s get a closer look, shall we?

Chick Peas in Plastic Grocery Bag - up close

Chickpeas! Chickpeas! Chickpeas!

I just like saying that. Chickpeas!

I confess I had never seen Chickpeas! in their fresh form factor.

Anyway, these Chickpeas! are fresh in the market now and I have to admit I was pretty excited when I saw them, being as though I’d never seen fresh Chickpeas! before.

In fact, I didn’t even really know what to do with them. So, first I hulled them:

Hulled Fresh Chick Peas

Then, I steamed them (when in doubt, I steam–gives me the true flavor, I figure). I served them with that arugula salad with lemon oil and some grated cheese. I can’t remember which cheese it was now, but it was likely some kind of Spanish sheep cheese since we’ve been a little obsessed with Spanish sheep cheese lately (in the name of self-improvement and personal culinary education).

Steamed Chick Peas with Arugula Salad

Next time I might very lightly coat the peas in olive oil and just slide ’em around in a warm skillet. Mmm.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

2 responses to “At the Market: Chickpeas

  1. ARYA

    I had never seen them fresh either! Thanks!

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks for commenting, Arya. These were truly a treat and I can’t wait to see them again next season. Another reader suggested making falafels with fresh chickpeas and seeing how they turned out. Those are my plans for next year!

Leave a Reply

