Kitchen Redux

So…finally, we progress on la cocina. Our remaining three projects were:

  • Put in the floor
  • Finish building the lower cabinets
  • Tile the backsplash

I’m happy to report that the floor is now finito! For your viewing pleasure, here are some photos:

Red and white Marmoleum Click kitchen flooring - view looking at oven

Wow, that is really red!

Red and white Marmoleum Click kitchen flooring - fridge view

I hope we’re not sick of it by next week.

Red and white Marmoleum Click kitchen flooring - fridge hall view

Can’t…stop…posting…photos…

Red and white Marmoleum Click kitchen flooring - view of sink area

The design points into the dining area, which is kind of a nice little effect that we hadn’t anticipated. Our kitchen is not square, it’s kind of…trapezoidal? So this “square target” design is actually offset when looking at the sink and oven, but lined up with the refrigerator wall, if that makes any sense.

In a previous life, The Man was a talented AutoCAD designer, which is how he made his living. Then, he got laid off and had one of those go-deep-into-the-wilds-of-New-Mexico-years, like we all do, and figure out what you Really Want to Do with Your Life, which maybe only some of us actually figure out (I haven’t). That’s when he became a contractor. Anyhoo, the upshot is twofold: he’s a great designer and builder. It’s a nice combo, especially around the house.

For this design, he gave me about 25 designs to choose from. That’s no joke: 25. They kind of made my eyes spin around in my head like a slot machine. I can’t even remember now if we agreed on any of them before we started negotiating about this one. We did this with Marmoleum Click square tiles. You can really get a nice custom look with just a little effort (and a lot of drawings). He was able to install this in one day. Pretty sweet.

The only other things we had considered were hardwood to match the rest of our house and tile. We had to do something because what was there before was some pretty hideous sheet vinyl crap from 1980 that had seen better days due to our house being a rental for 20-30 years before we bought it. You get the idea.

We went with Marmoleum because it’s cheap, fast, somewhat “green”, and pretty darn durable. I also like how it feels on my feet–smooth and warm.

Next will be the lower kitchen cabinets. Hopefully, I won’t have to wait another two months for those; The Man’s schedule is pretty packed (thank god). We have a little saying around here based on the old adage “The cobbler’s son has no shoes.” Our version is “The carpenter’s wife has no kitchen.”

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking

10 responses to “Kitchen Redux

  1. Oooooo, it’s fabulous!!! I absolutely love the floor!

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks, Allergy Mom! We love it too. It’s still taking some getting used to. Every time I walk in I’m kind of taken aback by how crazy it is. In a good way.

  3. madre mom

    WOW!!!! I think I like it….must have to grow on you.”The Man” must be good at puzzles and games also

  4. mjennings26

    Hi Madre Mom!
    Thanks so much for the comment and for reading my blog. Yes, The Man is very good at puzzles and games (as you know). He’s fun that way.

    It’s a pretty bold pattern. Our pal N.S. said she might get vertigo standing in our kitchen. A friend at work said it was like Dr. Seuss (in a good way…I think). It’s definitely the wackiest thing in our house, but so far I really love it. Every time I walk into the kitchen, I smile now.

  5. Hi Melanie,

    EAT! Vancouver was a lot of fun, even though my brother couldn’t understand why I was even bothering to attend (it was only because my dad asked me to help him out). I also looked “cute” according to my family because I had my little lunch box full of food.

    Eating in Vancouver…I know that there are quite a few great places, but in all honesty I’ve become quite a hermit since my diagnosis – at least when it comes to eating out. I did find one restaurant on W10th called Burgoo – here’s their website http://www.burgoo.ca/ , they were amazing and even made me a separate salad dressing that was GF. I see that they’ve opened up a couple of other stores, but the head of the store told me that they are more than willing to accomodate special diets. First Nations food…I can’t think of anywhere off the top of my head, but my dad is really big into ethnic dining and knows almost all of the good places to eat. I’ll check with him and get back to you.

    I’m also giving you my celiac chapter’s website with a list or restaurants. I must say, that personally I don’t feel Vancouver has much to offer us celiacs, but that could just be because I haven’t really looked.
    http://www.vancouverceliac.ca/restaurants.shtml

    I’m going to do some looking in the next couple of weeks – my birthday is coming up and I swore that I would go out this year. Also, June 21 and August 23 the Celiac Association is having a Pancake breakfast and picnic, so if you do come down and it happens to coincide, let me know and I’ll give you all the details (if I know them).

    Cheers for now!
    M-Elle

  6. Your floor looks great. I love it when people are daring and do something fun with marmoleum! I used three color myself in my kitchen and have had it for three years and still makes me smile too!
    Piera Marotto, Residential Sales Manager, Forbo Flooring Systems

  7. mjennings26

    Thanks so much, Piera. The floor is such a centerpiece. It’s really striking and makes me think of Hitchcock’s Vertigo when I look at it.

  8. mjennings26

    Also, I recently did my entire basement in square Marmoleum tiles. I’ll update about that and post some pictures soon.

Leave a Reply

