May is International Celiac Disease Awareness Month

Did you know that May is International Celiac Disease Awareness Month? (what a mouthful) I’m hoping we get a little wheat-colored bracelet and ribbon very soon. Maybe at tomorrow’s walk they’ll have celiac trinkets.

Some of you may have thought October was our month, but here is a little discussion of why it is now, indeed, May. I have to say that I like May for several reasons…one big one being that yours truly celebrates her day of birth in the beautiful month of May, a day that is, in fact, a national holiday on occasion, which I find truly flattering. I also like that we celiacs are now in psychological alliance with other syndromes “celebrated” in May, like Food Allergies, Lupus, and Arthritis, sadly, all problems I’ve had some experience with.

So in honor of ICDAM I’ve decided to do a little round-up of some of my favorite celiac-related stuff of late. Be warned that some are only loosely related to celiac disease…and if you don’t like that, hey, get your own blog!

  • I love this explanation of why the Gluten-free Goddess blogs.
  • I love this explanation of lamb curry and I’m looking forward to exploring this blog more.
  • I could eat this bacon (and all of Beeler’s other pork products) every day for the rest of my life (which might be a lot shorter as a result).
  • And I couldn’t live without this yogurt.

While I’m at it…. If you are a regular reader of this blog, you’ll know that I don’t often blab on about processed GF products. But this being May and ICDAM, here’s my GF-products-blab, along with my thank-you-for-being-alive list:

These products and people make my daily life so much easier. May the goddess of greenbacks bless you all forever. And Happy International Celiac Disease Awareness Month!

3 Comments

Filed under food, Food allergies, Gluten-free vegan, goat/sheep cheese

3 responses to “May is International Celiac Disease Awareness Month

  1. Darling, I just traced you. Thank you for the shout-out. And huge hugs for the additional food allergies. Sigh. It’s not easy. I’m there with ya.

    Stop in anytime for a chat or to commiserate. 🙂

  2. mjennings26

    Hi Karina,
    Thanks so much for the comment! I *will* stop by to chat and commiserate.

  3. Hey–Happy belated Celiac Awareness DAY!

Leave a Reply

