Salad Ballad

[To the tune of “Oh Susanna!”]

Oh you normies

Oh don’t you cry for me

For I’m eatin’ bresaola

with some lemon zest and iced tea

Isn’t it fun to be a food nerd? To sing songs of love to bresaola and iced tea? I think so.

And when did rocket become arugula? Is this some kind of north/south/country/city thing or just a marketing ploy? If any of you fine readers know the answer to these vexing questions, do let me know. In the meantime, here’s one of my favorite spring salads, just when the rocket/arugula is coming in.

Arugula with Lemon Oil and Bresaola

Serves 2

Pour a couple tablespoons of olive oil into a small jar. Zest a small lemon and mince the zest. Add the zest to the jar. Add a pinch or two of salt and juice from half of the lemon (or more, to taste). Shake it up! Dress a couple of handfuls of arugula in the lemon oil.

Place a few very thin slices of bresaola on a plate. Top with the arugula. Add ground pepper if you like your arugula even more peppery. Dig in!

Arugula atop bresaola

Mmmmm.

Here it is in an encore performance with some bratwurst and blue sheep’s cheese (also known as things I happened to have in the fridge/freezer that sounded good).

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, goat/sheep cheese, Recipes

One response to “Salad Ballad

  1. cloud9

    Hi Melanie,

    That salad dressing sounds fantastic! Wish I had a bushel of rocket to put it on. So I think you continue to not receive emails from me, since you never responded to them (I hope that is why anyway). Annoying problem. Anyway, I wrote some time back now to say that an interview format for the GF brewing would be fun! Let’s do it.

    -d

    P.S. The automatically generated ‘possibly related posts’ for this posting includes a link to ‘Lemon Incest’. I wonder if Sur La Table sells lemon incesters.

Leave a Reply

