What Makes a Good (Food) Blog?

I’ve been asking myself this question lately, weighing my options. It comes down to this weird thing about quality vs. quantity, as in:

Do I write a little bit every day? (in my case, poor quality)

or

Do I write every few days? (better quality, one can hope)

I’m still not sure what makes a good blog. Content? Fun writing style? Recipes? Rants? Judging from the stats I get from WordPress, by far my most popular content is My Health Project page, outnumbering all other page reads by about 3:1. What does that tell me? Misery loves company. And perhaps food blogs just aren’t that interesting. Hmmm.

I’m off to cook to take my mind off this perplexing conundrum, and to muster up some interesting content for my next blog post.

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food

6 responses to “What Makes a Good (Food) Blog?

  1. For what it’s worth I am always interested in what you have to say. Perhaps it is because I feel you are a kindred spirit, but I also enjoy your writing style very much. I’m not sure what kind of statement this makes about me, but the post that originally drew me in was the conversation with the rash! 🙂 I’ve enjoyed every post you have written. Keep up the good work!

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks, Allergy Mom! That was very sweet.

  3. I don’t think you have to post everyday in order to have a good blog. Personally, I enjoy your blog, but maybe that’s because I can relate. I say forget the masses and do what you really enjoy! Sooner or later they’ll all come to their senses!

    M-Elle

  4. mjennings26

    Thanks, M-Elle! You are so right. It’s funny, but I often have so much to say, yet so little time to blog. So it goes!

  5. With so many food blogs out there and so many popping up every second, my view on a good food blog is one that teaches me or gives me a new information on each post.

    You have a wonderful blog here. With so many allergies for food products, if you write about how you eat everyday and how you choose store products, it will give valuable information for those who are in need.

    Reading the blogs that are already out there on the same topic that you have decided to write, will give you a clue what is left and needs more light. This way you will get a flow of ideas. Before writing any post I will ask myself what new information am I going to share with my readers? It works.

    Other than that, frequency depends upon the readers.

  6. mjennings26

    Hi, Priya,
    Thanks so much for the comment. I agree that adding something new to the conversation is important. Sometimes I wonder if I write for myself, my family, my friends, or people in cyberspace I don’t even know. I posts the best that will make all of them curious and happy about food, but that’s not easy for me to do on a regular basis. I suppose that’s part of the challenge and draw of blogging for me.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

