Tax Time, Tea Time

Whilst procrastinating on my taxes, I had the pleasure of wandering around the house snapping shots of my favorite tea-related items. Why? Why ask why? Call it my equivalent of washing the walls before writing a short story (which one of my teachers said she always did before she finally got down to writing). So, with that said, here’s my favorite red teapot and tea cups:

Red teapot

The red teapot is for two. Here’s my favorite teapot for one, which my special pal RCMB gave me. (RCMB loves to be mentioned on this blog. RCMB should comment more and send me some good vegan dessert recipes).

This teapot is Japanese and has a fabulous crackle glaze (this photo doesn’t do it justice). The crackle finish is really great to ponder while you’re procrastinating. So many lines, so many paths to take…

White Japanese teapot with a crackle glaze

Have you noticed yet that The Man and I are obsessed with glass? Here are our new teacups (cost about $5 total at Goodwill):

Glass teacups hanging from hooks

Here’s a current favorite tea atop a crocheted bottlecap trivet. Family and friends take note on that: I’m still collecting bottlecap trivets.

Tea tin of decaf darjeeling

And last, but certainly not least, the most important tea in my life: my Chinese “tea” (cough, gag, upchuck!):

If I had to choose between drinking my Chinese “tea” and doing my taxes…1040 here I come!

7 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food

7 responses to “Tax Time, Tea Time

  1. LOL! That is funny. Good luck on your taxes.

  2. mjennings26

    Marye,
    Thanks so much for commenting and reading this blog. I enjoyed looking at Kettle and Cup as well.

    And now for a total non sequitur: I noticed that you speak Farsi. I have an interest in fiction written by Iranian women (Farnoosh Moshiri, Nahid Rachlin, Marjane Satrapi). This is a long shot, I know, but if you have any authors you could recommend to me, I would love it. I can’t read or speak Farsi, so they would have to be either written in English or translated. Thanks and take care!
    Melanie

  3. Melanie I don’t know if you saw the comment I left for you on my blog so I’m going to leave it here too. For future reference, the ingredients in EnerG brand egg replacer are:
    potato starch, tapioca flour, leavening (calcium lactate, calcium carbonate, citric acid), sodium carboxymethylcellulose, methylcellulose. *calcium lactate is not dairy derived.

  4. mjennings26

    Allergy Mom,
    Thanks so much for the note. You’re right, I hadn’t checked back to see your comment. What is the blogtiquette on these things? I have no idea. So thanks for sending your answer to me!

    I think I have stayed away from Egg Replacer due to the potato starch, which is often sulfited (to keep its pretty white color). However, if I was only using a very small amount of it, perhaps it wouldn’t cross my tolerance threshold. I just kind of hate experimenting with those thresholds because when I cross them, I really suffer.

    I’ll let you know if I try it!

    Melanie

  5. I answered you Melanie, thanks for visiting..I don;t speak farsi, I was a czech linguist, my husband is the Iraqi linguist..but limited to military terminology. 🙂

  6. I’m not sure of the blog/comment etiquette. My personal stratagy is to leave as many comments in as many places as possible when I am avoiding cleaning my house!
    I don’t want to talk you into something that could hurt you, but for what it’s worth my mother has severe reactions to sulfites (has trouble breathing) and she uses EnerG egg replacer fairly often. Come to think of it she uses potato starch in her cooking too. I don’t think she knows about the sulfites in it, thanks for the heads up.

  7. mjennings26

    Allergy Mom,
    Thank you SO much for that information. I think you understand the paranoia one can develop after a while of this nonsense. Your mother’s experience sounds good enough for me to give egg replacer, and potato starch for that matter, a try. I’ll let you know how it turns out.
    Thanks again!
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

