My XXX Garden Fantasy

Spring has sprung!

Clothes drying on a clothesline

This was a particularly long and wet winter. (The Man would tell you that I say this every year). We had lots of hail and frost on the ground even just last week. So today I feel like a mole coming out into the light. (If you have never had the pleasure of seeing an actual mole…ah, my friend, what you are missing).

Last year my garden goal was modest: just get some kitchen herbs going. Here are the survivors:

Mixed herbs in pots

Parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme…

In addition, this crazy-spicy Chinese mustard has recently overwintered:

Chinese mustard growing in dirt

And my sorrel is like, uhm, atomic. We don’t even eat it anymore because it grows (still) in what we call the “toxic garden”…the flowerbed onto which all of our lead paint showered when we scraped and painted the outside of our house a couple of years ago. You know, the sorrel is extra green. I should probably not let the dog or the neighbor kids near it.

Sorrel growing in dirt

I’m not sure what my garden goal is this year. I do know it will be modest. I still don’t have a “vision” for the backyard, just a fantasy that the Chinese Classical Garden will magically appear there some day. I have planted some lettuces so far, and I continue to prep beds for flowers and veggies. Perhaps those activities will encourage the Chinese Classical Garden to appear very soon.

2 Comments

Filed under food, Glorious Food

2 responses to “My XXX Garden Fantasy

  1. You garden like I do. I had the “mole” experience myself yesterday…it was glorious! Unfortunately here in central Oregon the threat of frost is always lurking. Every year I plant tomatoes at the end of April, and every year we have a surprise frost in May (yes, i know, if it happens every year it shouldn’t be a surprise). Best of luck to you and your garden! Homegrown herbs in a brand new kitchen, isn’t that just heaven?

  2. mjennings26

    Naturally the one day of spring has passed! Glad I was able to enjoy it while it was here, and that it happened on a Saturday. Truly rare indeed.

    I’ll pray the backyard garden rosary that *this* will be the no-frost May for you!

Leave a Reply

