Chocolate On My Mind

Chocolate, chocolate,
The whole day through.
Just an old sweet song,
Keeps chocolate on my mind.

Oh! Am I on? Is this microphone on?! I hate when I lapse into my Ray Charles impersonation accidentally.

I have had chocolate on my mind lately, mostly because I’ve been eating a fair amount, okay a lot, of it. I had the serious pleasure of feeling Food Normal in a downtown setting over the weekend for ten delicious minutes. It went like this:

  1. Go to the crazy chocolate store with The Man.
  2. Chat up the lady behind the counter about how I can’t have gluten, dairy, almonds, or eggs with my chocolate because, you know, everyone is as fascinated as I am by my new food allergies.
  3. Look utterly stunned as this lady says: “You know, we’ve been experimenting lately with hemp milk and we may still have some in the back. Would you like a hot chocolate made with hemp milk?”
  4. Barely manage something like: Is the Pope Catholic?

Let me see if I can describe the sensation of sitting in the shoppe (it’s that kind of place) window with The Man, watching the rain (the only weather we have here), and sipping the most amazing cup of hot chocolate ever: well, I can’t. The closest I can come is Ray Charles singing Chocolate, chocolate…

3 Comments

Filed under food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Restaurants

3 responses to “Chocolate On My Mind

  1. Mmmmmmmm, the perfect moment! 🙂
    I just realized that you are in Portland. I am in Bend. We’ve never been to Potland but my cousin just moved there and I hope we will be visiting her this summer. Maybe you can tell me some of the best (maybe even allergy friendly) places to go. I’m thinking the chocolate store is a good place to start!!!

  2. mjennings26

    Allergy Mom (I just like that name, hope it’s okay I keep calling you that),

    Yep, I’m in P-town. If you are planning a trip here, I would start by checking out the Grain Damaged blog (see my Celiac list in the right sidebar). I will also think about a good list of places to go/eat and post about that soon.
    Thanks for the comment!
    Melanie

  3. Thank you, and please…call me AllergyMom 🙂
    I’m already getting excited about the trip looking at the Grain Damaged site. So many possabilities! Now I’m hungry…I think I’ll eat…talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

