You Gotta Panna Cotta

I think I have expressed my affection for custards several times before on this blog. And as the custard-making foods like eggs and cow dairy go AWOL from my diet and join the Allergy-Bad-They-Want-to-Kill-Me camp, it’s really nice to find some custards that I can actually eat.

Panna cotta is truly dreamy. I don’t think my recipe is dreamy, but I think it’s as close as I’m likely to get for a while. My next attempts with panna cotta will probably be in the savory category and include chevre and bacon, something along these lines. I think the chevre would give it the richness and mouth feel I’m craving.

For now, this works pretty darn good. I’m sorry it’s not vegan. I worked on this for a while, so I kind of ran out of steam to go that extra mile. However, I’m sure now that it could be done by a determined vegan using arrowroot powder, nut or rice milk, and coconut milk. If you come up with something, do let me know. I can no longer experiment with this recipe because I’ve eaten twice my body weight in coconut milk this month.

Panna Cotta for the Cow-Allergic

1/2 c goat milk

all but 3/4 tsp of a gelatin packet

1 can of coconut milk

1/4 c agave syrup

pinch of salt

1 tsp coconut or vanilla extract (depending on your end flavor goal)

1/4 c sheep yogurt

Put the goat milk in a bowl and gently sprinkle the gelatin over it. Let that stand for about 10 minutes or so to soften the gelatin, like so:

Gelatin in Goat Milk

In a saucepan, heat one can of coconut milk with a pinch of salt over medium heat until it just comes to a boil. Remove from heat and add 1/4 c agave syrup and 1 tsp of extract. Whisk in the goat milk-gelatin mixture.

When the mixture is warm-ish, add 1/4 c of sheep yogurt (I find it’s less tangy than goat, and here you want less tangy; otherwise, this just ends up tasting like stiff yogurt). Pour this mixture into ramekins and refrigerate overnight.

Important Note: You really need to let it sit if not overnight, then several hours or it won’t gel correctly. You don’t want it stiff. You want it to just hold together and be lovely.

To serve, either eat it straight from the ramekin, like so:

Panna Cotta in Ramekin

Or add some fruit on the side or a quince glaze, thusly:

Panna Cotta with Quince Glaze

Or, my favorite, add some chocolate sauce for a little Mounds bar theme. If you can eat almonds, sprinkle some of those around and call it Almond Joy Panna Cotta.

If you’re going to eat it out of the ramekins, dislodging it can be tricky. First, hold a warm cloth to the ramekin for a few seconds. Next, run a sharp knife around the edge. Then put a plate face down on top of the ramekin. You see where we’re going with this right? Now turn the whole thing upside down to plop the panna cotta onto the plate. Your goal is something like this:

Mounds Panna Cotta

Mmmm

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, food, Food allergies, Glorious Food, goat/sheep cheese, Recipes

4 responses to “You Gotta Panna Cotta

  1. Do you think this would work with soy milk and soy yogurt? Emily can’t do any dairy, cow, sheep, goat, or otherwise. Your pictures are beautiful!

  2. mjennings26

    Hi Charmaine,
    Yes, I think it could work with an alternative milk. I would probably start my experiments with a combo of rice and coconut milk because I think the high fat and binding content of those would be key. I think it could probably work with soy milk too, but I’d start first with coconut and rice. You may have to play around with the gelatin amount. That is what is making it set properly. You don’t want it so thick that it’s like jello, but not so loose as yogurt. It should stand on the plate on its own, but again, not jello-like.

    Let me know if you try it and how it turns out!
    Melanie

  3. Now I dunno…
    After that description I’m thinking this is way beyond my skill level! lol

  4. mjennings26

    Hey there!

    I am so happy to report I found this fabulous-looking vegan/non-dairy coconut milk panna cotta recipe here:
    http://www.cookingdebauchery.com/cooking_debauchery/2006/04/cardamom_pana_c.html

    Cut out the cardamom, add a teaspoon of vanilla or coconut extract, et voila. If you make it, let me know how it goes!

    Melanie

Leave a Reply

