Reader Recipes: Chocolate Pudding

A while back, Allergy Mom sent me a recipe for chocolate pudding. It came at a great time as I had begun to wonder if I’d ever eat chocolate again. It had been on my list of suspects. I’m happy to report that for now, anyway, it doesn’t seem to bother me. Hallelujah choir sing!

When I looked at the recipe, I said to myself, “Self, last time you made something with cocoa powder you thought it sucked. So let’s experiment, shall we?” We did.

Here’s what my Self and I came up with. It’s Allergy Mom’s recipe on chocolate crack.

(Vegan) Chocolate Pot de Creme

2 C coconut milk (one can)

1/4 C agave syrup

5 T arrowroot powder

1/2 C chocolate chips

2 t vanilla

Run the coconut milk through a fine sieve. This removes any stray coconut chunks–maybe mine was old, who knows. In a saucepan, heat the coconut milk and arrowroot powder. To prevent nasty arrowroot powder chunks, either put a small amount in with a small amount of coconut milk and stir out all the chunks as you would corn starch; or, when adding the arrowroot to the coconut milk mixture, sift it through a fine sieve while whisking the coconut milk. Does that make sense?

Heat that up until it gets a little thick. Allergy Mom said to boil, but I’m not sure that was really necessary. You can have fun experimenting. Just get it hot. Then add the agave and vanilla and remove from the heat.

While that’s heating up, melt the chocolate chips over a double boiler. When those are melted and smooth, add the mixture to your coconut milk mixture. Then, pour into ramekins and serve, or chill and serve. I think it was best chilled because it was more like pot de creme that way, which I never thought I’d have again. Also, to make it look a little nicer, you can top it with some kind of glaze (since, if you’re me, you can’t top it with whipped cream).

Chocolate Pot de Creme

Without a glaze or sauce, you can see these little pock marks. Doesn’t bother me, but you could dress it up a bit if you’re serving them to VIPs. Here’s a pic with a basic strawberry sauce, but my favorite was a quince glaze that I made from some quince jelly I made last fall. (FYI, quince has to appear in italics anytime it appears on this blog due to its very special place in my heart.)

Chocolate Pot de Creme with Strawberry Sauce

I really, really, really enjoyed this treat. I’m also happy that it’s vegan for my very special vegan friend, RCMB. Hope you like it, too!

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

6 responses to “Reader Recipes: Chocolate Pudding

  1. Liu

    Hi Melanie! I ‘ve come across your site and found it really interesting. Nice recipes and I am sure really helpful to people suffering from allergies.

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks for reading and commenting, Liu!

  3. Yayyyyyyyy! Now I’m going to have to try it your way. It sounds very decadent. Mine was a recipe for a quick pudding for a 5 yr old, yours is a recipe for…well… ME! Thanks for the plug by the way, my traffic has slowed way down lately. Oh wait, I don’t know if I ever told you, I moved my recipe blog to http://yummyallergenfree.blogspot.com
    I still have my wordpress blog but hardly ever write on it. Hope to see ya soon!

  4. mjennings26

    Hi Charmaine,
    Wow, you have a real name, not just Allergy Mom? Thanks for the comment. If you try the new recipe, let me know what you think.

    I will change the link so it goes to your new site.

    Take care!
    Melanie

  5. Oh yeah…..
    Hi Melanie, I’m Charmaine, nice to meet you! 🙂

  6. mjennings26

    Ditto!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

