The State of the Kitchen Address

My fellow culinarians…

But seriously now. We’ve been remodeling our kitchen since around New Year’s. So far it’s been fairly painless. I’ve gotten used to the plywood countertop, the plywood floor, the dust on every conceivable surface (at opposite ends of the house), and the relocation of pots, pans, and dishes to an old bookcase in the living room. I think I handled it all pretty well.

But living without a sink…I do have my limits. It’s been almost two weeks now. Here’s how we’ve been washing dishes:

Dishes in Tub

Nice, huh? (If you can’t tell from the photo, this is my bathtub). As you might imagine, this has seriously affected my ability to cook. Reader recipes were a serious challenge this past week, perhaps why I was so destroyed by those darned falafels.

Here’s a pic of the kitchen in progress:

Kitchen Progress

This afternoon, at long last, my hunky contractor put the new bamboo countertop in and cut out the hole for the sink. He promises me a usable sink for this weekend (i.e., Easter dinner). Let’s all pray the kitchen rosary that it be so.

To end this State of the Kitchen Address, I feel compelled to say something ceremonial and expansive, like:

May the Hearth Goddess bless my kitchen and all our kitchens.

Kitchen Showing Sink Hole and Bamboo Countertop

Bamboo countertop with hole for the sink
Hot Stuff in Kitchen

My seriously hot contractor

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “The State of the Kitchen Address

  1. LOL I looked at that first picture before I started reading and thought “wow she has a big sink!” I’m excied for you. Your new kitchen looks like it’s going to be beautiful, just hang in there. I’m a little envious (not of the mess of course). Baking a cake in my house requires a standard 3 slams of the oven door, one every 10 minutes, to keep the oven turned on. It would be so nice to have an organized properly functioning kitchen! 🙂

  2. mjennings26

    Thanks Allergy Mom!

    I can’t wait for it to be finished either. I’m going to post more photos later today.

    I think I used to own that oven! Thank god we’ve replaced it.

    Best,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

