Gluten-free Pancakes, Oh My!

Not sure why I’ve been so into breakfast lately. Maybe it’s because breakfast is the first meal I cook on weekends so I’m really paying attention and into it. Also, I’m trying to add grains back into my diet and breakfast is a great way to do that.

There is a local restaurant that makes awesome corn pancakes with ground toasted hazelnuts. I was thinking about those this morning and decided to try it for myself. Here’s what I came up with.

GF Banana-Walnut Corn Pancakes

1/2 c. corn meal

1/4 c. toasted walnuts, coarsely chopped

1 small mushy banana, mushed

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 Tbs. agave syrup

pinch of salt

1/2 c. hazelnut milk

oil for frying

(serves 2; makes 6 silver dollars)

If you have a warming drawer, turn it on and put your serving plates inside. Dig the maple syrup out of the back of the fridge and get that warmed up as well.

Next, put all your dry stuff in a bowl, like so:

Corn Cakes Dry Ingredients

Heat up your nonstick skillet pretty high and put a little oil in there. I used canola today, but any ol’ oil would do, and/or butter.

Then, add the hazelnut milk to your dry stuff and mix together gently and loosely (don’t beat it to death). Drop pancakes as silver dollars into your skillet like so:

Corn Cakes Frying in Skillet

Note that there is way too much oil in this pan. Add less than I did!

Fry on both sides until they’re slightly browned. Add maple syrup and goat butter or margarine. Then, enjoy these little corn bombs!

If I were to make this recipe again, I’d probably add some tapioca flour to see if that would lighten up the batter a bit, or Wonderslim’s Egg and Fat Substitute (I avoid Egg Replacer due to the potato starch = sulfites). These weren’t overly heavy, but it’s definitely a lot of corn. I’d also spread my batter thinner next time.

Banana-Walnut Corn Cakes

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, Glorious Food, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

Leave a Reply

