Adventures in Panna Cotta

I really love custards. But what’s not to love about cream, eggs, and sugar? Now that those three basic food groups are off my personal menu, I’ve struggled to come up with a good replacement.

I turn now to a favorite subject: panna cotta. Sally Schneider has a truly knockout recipe which I’m sure I’ve mentioned at least a thousand times on this blog already for panna cotta made with sour cream. It’s really divine.

But how can I have panna cotta without cow dairy? Strangely, not a whole lot is out there on the Internet about how to make panna cotta with goat milk. I have found one recipe that I am going to try very soon.

The basic problem is that panna cotta is cooked cream. The fat globules in goat milk are smaller than cow’s milk. I’m thinking that all those little fat globules you’d normally get with cream just don’t gel, literally.

So what about coconut milk? I’ve been experimenting and so far I have made a very tasty coconut-something-or-other that is more the consistency of yogurt, not panna cotta. But I’m almost there! Just a little more tweaking…and I shall have the recipe for you.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, goat/sheep cheese, Recipes

3 responses to “Adventures in Panna Cotta

  1. Ooooh, I’m excited…waiting for this recipe! I do have a very thick chocolate pudding recipe made with coconut milk. (I’ve never even had panna cotta, I had to look it up just now lol) Let me know if you would like to see it. I’ll send it to you or post it or something. It has to be chocolate or another strong flavor though or you can REALLY taste the coconut.

  2. mjennings26

    Allergy Mom,
    I’d love that recipe so send it on over!

    I know what you mean about the coconut flavor. That’s why I’m actually just going whole hog with it in my experiments, even enhancing the coconut flavor with a teaspoon of coconut extract. Then folks could chocolate sauce and/or nuts for a Mounds or Almond Joy thing. Mmm!

  3. Chocolate Pudding:

    2 C Coconut milk
    1/4 C Agave nectar or honey
    5 T Arrowroot
    1/4 C Cocoa powder
    2 t Vanilla

    Stir cocoa powder and arrowroot together in a saucepan using a whisk. Add 1/2 C of the milk and stir until smooth. Add the rest of the milk and the sweetener and cook over medium heat until it thickens and begins to boil. Stir in vanilla. Serve warm or cold.

    There ya go. I love your idea of putting almonds on top, one of the few nuts my Emily can have!

Leave a Reply

