Homemade Granola Girl, Uh Huh!

I’m getting sick of talking about my health issues. Also, I don’t want my blog to be hijacked by The Rash, much as it would love to eat my blog, too. So, just know that I am improving and I will be updating My Health Project page quarterly (that means March 21st, Nourooz/Ostara).

I woke up today craving granola. It’s something that’s a little hard to find gluten-free, sugar-free, etc. I have long known that I could just make my own, but it wasn’t until today that I finally managed to try it out. Woohoo!

So, basically, I took some gluten-free oats and toasted them under the new kickass broiler. Then, I toasted some pumpkin seeds, which I love. I tossed the oats and seeds together and coated them very lightly with agave syrup. You have to watch that stuff because it is really sweet.

Oatmeal

Then I added some sliced banana and cinnamon, and voila! Granola.

Oatmeal

The flavor when you make it yourself is obviously way different from grocery-store granola. At home, it’s more nutty and you really taste the oats. Next time I’ll try oats, walnuts, and blueberries, and maybe toss in some sheep yogurt (one of my new favorite foods).

I feel good knowing my intestines are getting an oatmeal cleanse.

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

6 responses to “Homemade Granola Girl, Uh Huh!

  1. Cari

    mmmm…I love homemade granola. I just use oats, cinnamon, honey & an egg! Store bought is not the same once you start making your own.
    I need to find me some agave syrup. Hard to do in the ‘burbs.
    I feel for you and your rash….Are you still seeing the chinese witchdoctor and drinking the tea?

  2. mjennings26

    Cari,
    An egg? In your granola?! Do you use that as some kind of binder?

    I don’t know what kinds of stores you have there in your ‘burb, but I’m thinking maybe even Trader’s carries agave syrup.

    I am still seeing the Chinese doc and drinking the Kool-Aid. I’ll be updating My Health Project page very soon.

    Also, since you are my sister, I will probably just talk to you on the phone very soon. 😉

    Love ya,
    mj

  3. You left a comment about my bread and now I feel like I have to justify my endorsement some how…I mean…it’s not Wonder bread! It is the most amazing ALLERGEN FREE bread I have ever had, but I just didn’t want you to be expecting something that it’s not. Ya know what I mean?
    I’ve got gluten free oats on order, I think I’ll be making granola now as soon as they come in…Yum!
    One other thing, I know I’m rambling, I wanted to tell you my 6 yr old is allergic to garlic too. (and she’s Italian!)
    Have a great day! 🙂

  4. mjennings26

    Hey, Allergy Mom,

    Thanks for the reply. Of course I won’t hold you accountable if I think the Pamela’s bread mix sucks. I figure any mix that’s even halfway decent is worth a try.

    On my way home from the grocery store tonight, I was chomping on some tortilla chips. I realized how few packaged foods I can actually eat and I felt so grateful to open a bag of something and just eat it without thinking much about it.

    So, I’ll let you know what I think of the mix very soon.

    Also, I hope your six-year-old outgrows the garlic allergy. As my best friend says, a garlic allergy is just “wrong!”

    Thanks again for your blog and the comment!

    Melanie

  5. Margaret

    Hi,
    can you tell me where I can get gluten free oats? thanks…

  6. mjennings26

    Hi Margaret,
    Thanks so much for the question. I am really enjoying the old-fashioned rolled oats made by a company called Gluten Free Oats. Their Web site is http://www.glutenfreeoats.com/. They are made in Wyoming. You can buy the oats direct from the company’s Web site. Locally, I buy them at Lingonberries Market in Vancouver, WA (http://www.lingonberriesmarket.com/). In fact, I had some this morning for breakfast. Yum!

    Enjoy,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

