Cookbook Torture

Sitting here this holiday reading Alice Medrich’s amazing new book, Pure Desserts. Man, oh, man. Sometimes it is painful to have these food problems. I love to read cookbooks, but it’s come to the point where maybe I shouldn’t. Mainstream cookbooks, that is.

My fantasy is that someone like Alice Medrich will get celiac disease and become allergic to eggs and dairy (not that I wish this on anyone, mind you). To deal with the situation, she focuses her amazing genius and talent on creating an incredible tome like Pure Dessert for the food-allergic. For example, Butter Sugar Flour Eggs morphs into Oil Agave Sorghum Egg-Replacer. Yes! That is my fantasy!

I’ve read a lot of the vegan and otherwise allergic cookbooks that attempt such recipes. But what I’m talking about is something more accomplished and inspired.

My all-time favorite GF cookbook is Healthy Gluten-free Cooking by Darina Allen and Rosemary Kearney. Close seconds are The Best Gluten-free Family Cookbook and 125 Best Gluten-free Recipes by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt. Even so, you have to pick and choose from these if you have more than just a gluten allergy, which most celiacs I know do.

I know this cookbook doesn’t exist and I’ll just have to continue experimenting and modifying recipes, which is fine. But it would be nice, in my lifetime, to sit down and crack open Oil Agave Sorghum Egg-Replacer. It would be nice to drool over the beautiful photographs and beat a path to the kitchen to make something decadent and delicious.

In the meantime, I have Alice Medrich’s sherbet recipes to experiment with this spring. Thankfully, I’m still doing fine with goat milk.

4 Comments

Filed under Candida, Cooking, Food allergies, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

4 responses to “Cookbook Torture

  1. If I ever have my way this cookbook will exist! I have my trivial little collection of recipes on my blog right now…but I dream of it growing into a big, beautiful, super informative cookbook someday. Of course I am more of a comfort foods kind of cook, my 14 yr old daughter is the gourmet in the family. She plans to go to Cordon Bleu when she graduates but she doesn’t have multiple food allergies and doesn’t care as much about them as I wish she would. I’ll keep working on bringing her over to our side though! Someday…someday.

  2. mjennings26

    Allergy Mom,
    Thanks so much for the comment! I look forward to that “someday”!

    Melanie

  3. stefanie

    I’ve never been attracted to gluten-free cookbooks for everyday eating; I can cook simply without recipes, I’ve always cooked from scratch, and rice-based cuisines are my favorites, so eliminating gluten (and dairy) was more an emotional than a practical challenge. Baking is a different matter entirely because I’ve never been an experimental or free-wheelin’ baker.

    I’ll keep an eye out for enticing desserts. The two books I have, Gluten-Free Baking and Fabulous and Flourless, both use eggs and sugar in quantity. It’s easy enough to eliminate dairy but I haven’t really tried egg replacer and it doesn’t seem like it would work in most of these recipes.

  4. stefanie

    Okay, when I was looking for something completely off-topic, I came across a book I picked up a few years ago Wordstock. I haven’t tried anything from it, but it’s called Vice Cream (by Jeff Rogers, published by Creative Arts), and it’s all about vegan “ice cream.” The recipes use nut (mostly cashew) and coconut milks, and dates, agave, maple syrup, and stevia as sweeteners.

Leave a Reply

