Victory IS Sweet!

And gloating feels good. Go Giants! At last, a Super Bowl that was actually a good game.

Another score, we made our first goat milk ice cream: no eggs and no sugar! It turned out pretty spanking good. No goat-y aftertaste, which we were afraid of. But without egg, it does get a little crystallized if you freeze it after you make it. So, my advice to you is make a small batch so you can eat all of it in one sitting (should be no problem, I’m sure). Here’s what it looked like:

Coffee Goat Ice Cream

Here’s the recipe:

Coffee Goat Ice Cream

3 c goat milk (not lowfat)

1/3 – 1/2 c agave syrup

1 tsp vanilla

2 heaping tbs instant coffee (in my case, decaf)

Stir all that up together. Put it into your ice cream maker, like so:

Ice Cream in Bucket

Whip it up, et voila!

Ice Cream in the Bucket

Not to be forgotten, we also did some heavily-cuminized lamb skewers. I got the idea from our pal, Drew, who is living in Shenzhen, China. He rhapsodized about these cumin-lamb skewers sold by the Chinese Muslim street vendors there. We’ll let Drew be the judge of this recipe when he returns stateside.

Chinese Muslim Lamb Kebobs

1 lb lamb leg steak, cut into 1/2 inch slices

A buttload of fresh ground cumin, yes, from cumin seeds (buy a grinder cheap at Goodwill–and while you’re there, pick up an ice cream maker)

1 tbs kosher salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp chili powder

Toss all of those items together and store in an airtight container overnight. Next day, about 3 hours before you’re going to eat, empty a can of coconut milk into the container and let the lamb soak in that outside of the fridge. Skewer and grill.

Pickle really enjoyed the lamb kebobs as well. When we went upstairs to see about the ice cream, he polished off the leftovers I had left on my plate to bring to work tomorrow. Little bastard.

We also made some dips, but I’m getting too tired tonight to write them down. All that adrenaline has suddenly subsided. Here’s tonight’s meal:

Super Bowl Meal

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, Glorious Food, goat/sheep cheese, ice cream, Recipes

3 responses to “Victory IS Sweet!

  1. stefanie

    I’m going to comment you up. I haven’t had goat’s milk since I was about 12…my stepfather ate granola with banana, strawberries, and goat milk for breakfast every morning for years and years. I thought it was horrific. I might have to try it again. I’m going to send a link to this to a friend who doesn’t do cow; I’ve never heard her mention goat cream or goat butter before.

  2. mjennings26

    Comment away, please!

    My spousal unit can do cow dairy. That said, he thinks the goat milk is a little strong to just drink straight out of the carton. I’ve gotten to the point where I can drink it that way and it’s fine. But I think this is kind of how gluten-free pizza tastes really good to me now. It’s one of those things where if you haven’t had the “real” thing for a while, can be quite tasty.

    As for goat cream, I’m actually going to post about that soon. I’ve found a goat dairy farmer with a cream separator. Woohoo!

    Goat butter is really good. I would recommend that to everyone. If you’re the kind of cook who likes to add a secret ingredient, goat butter is a great option.

  3. stefanie

    When I first stopped eating gluten and dairy, pizza haunted me. It’s not like I had eaten it frequently before, but the idea of never having it (or comfort! or pleasure! or social camaraderie around food!) again was emotionally painful. So when I eventually did make a gluten-free crust, a nice tomato sauce, and cashew “cheese,” I was pretty stinkin’ happy with the results.

    My friend says that her goat butter mostly stays in the freezer while she uses Natural Balance or Healthy Balance or whatever the brand is with Leonardo’s Vitruvian man on the container.

Leave a Reply

