Vegan Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Go ‘Niners!

Okay, got that out of the way. As in totally out of the way since they didn’t do so hot this year. It’s a building year.

My favorite football weekends are during the playoffs, specifically, the AFC/NFC Championship games. They’re usually so much better than the super-bowel.

I spend a lot of time thinking about food, specifically, combinations of food, which I guess some people would call recipes. Typically, it goes something like this:

“Hmmm. The AFC/NFC Championship games are this weekend. What should I make?”

Then I spend many, many more hours thinking about the answer to that question. Last year for the super bowl (for some reason, I just can’t capitalize it) we did all manner of finger foods, including a watermelon jello that didn’t go so well. I remember writing all about this meal in my journal. Yet I honestly can’t remember who was in the game.

Like you didn’t already know the depths of my OCD.

So, anyway, this year I’m back on the topic. All I’ve come up with so far is popcorn with goat butter because it’s one of the few “treat” things I’m tolerating lately. Even that has been sketchy. If you haven’t yet tried popcorn with goat butter, get yourself ON IT NOW. Pop the kernels in olive oil, melt a little goat butter and pour over the popcorn, lightly salt. Taste sensation.

Sometimes I think about meals that I can’t have. Or I think about meals that I would have with specific people. For example, if my dear old football-watching friend were still alive and I could eat the following foods, this is what I would make for us for the championship games: gluten-free chocolate chip cookies, my goat butter salted popcorn mixed with Crunch ‘n Munch, accompanied by North Beach pizza. This friend had a serious sweet tooth. But you could never just have those items as your meal. You had to have it with something healthy and filling. You know, like pizza.

I have to think more on this topic before I develop any solid plans for Sunday. In the meantime, at long last, here is my gluten-free vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe. Hope you like it.

Vegan Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 3/4 c flour*

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 c brown sugar

1/2 c sugar

1/3 c canola oil (or margarine or melted dairy product of your choice–like goat butter)

1 tbs flax meal

1/4 c “milk” (think hazelnut, almond, hemp, soy, rice)

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375F. Sift together flour, soda, and salt. In a small bowl mix flax meal and milk. Add sugar and stir. Add oil and vanilla. Whisk until all ingredients are emulsified (about a minute).

Mix wet ingredients into dry. Fold in the chips.

Drop by tablespoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet, leaving 1 1/2″ between cookies.

Bake 10-12 minutes. Remove and cool 5 minutes.

* A note about flours. Depending on what I have in the house, I use sorghum, garbanzo bean, or amaranth. I hesitate to specify here because it’s fun (for me) to experiment. If you don’t like experiments, I would start with just straight sorghum. I think the best combo is sorghum (1 c), bean (1/2 c), and tapioca (1/4 c).

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food allergies, Gluten-free vegan, Recipes

Leave a Reply

